We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lake but resort needs work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston Bar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Lake Resort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lake but resort needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had site #56 - do not stay there unless you don't mind kids trampling your site in way to playground from 7am-9:30pm, people almost falling into your tent and flashing their flashlights into your tent on way to bathroom at all hours. That site is right beside both the bathrooms and playground and it isn't obvious it's actually a site, to be fair to the kids and night-walkers. Also, even though it's stated that quiet time is after 10pm and the grounds are patrolled, we were still subjected to partiers til after 1am. They were cutting wood with axes until after midnight in their drunken state, until the owner came to ask them not to. But no warning on the noise.
This really is a beautiful spot, but needs some TLC and better patrolling. You can either serve the party crowd or the family crowd, but not both well...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missusschickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFin1, General Manager at Blue Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to every review we receive, good or bad, as they help us refine the vacation experience we have to offer.

I can agree with you that site # 56 is not our best site. Generally we do not rent it out unless we are almost at capacity, but we certainly would not offer it if we did not feel as though we could offer a quality stay in it. We have had success before with customers who enjoy being close to the playground so that they may stay in their site and supervise their children, but clearly this is not ideal for you.

As well, loud campers continue to be the biggest problem that all campgrounds face. It is the aspect that we have the least amount of control over, as we cannot insist people go to bed, abstain from drinking alcohol, or hold their mouths shut (although at times I have been tempted). Commonly campers with become quiet when we ask, and then ramp back up half an hour later when we have finished our patrol.

All of these issues will be something that we must continue to battle with, but you shouldn't have to. Should you book with us again, please ask for me by name, Shayne Findlay. I will ensure that the site you are booked into is much more private, and that I book you near other known guests who come with their families and respect other campers. My personal mission will be to provide you with the vacation experience that you deserve.

I do hope that you again give us the chance to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
61
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just love coming up to Blue Lake every year. We stumbled upon Blue Lake because of White Water Rafting 4 years ago and we can't stay away, the super friendly owners and staff make it easy to reserve and correspond with, plus they're ruggedly handsom too boot!

The lake is like a pool, and the hiking is worth while which makes the lake that much better. This year we camped at #35 and found the campsites can be a bit tight and "neighbourly" so that may not be appeasing to some campers.

Honestly, I too did not want to write this either because I want to keep it all too to myself...

See you this time next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and a group of friends have been going to Blue Lake for the last few years and always look forward to it.

We have camped in three different locations, on the water with a dock, near the horseshoe pit, and most recently at #57 and #58 across from the playground. The lakeside sites are a little smaller, but the docks make them worth it. Just depends on what kind of experience you're looking for and the size of your group. We chose sites close to the playground (and washrooms) this year as we were travelling with young children and wanted a bigger double site.

It's been interesting reading the comments re. too much noise vs. not being allowed to make any noise. Our experience has been that it's not silent at night, but it is reasonable (and much quieter than some provincial sites closer to the Lower Mainland). We generally stay up our last night with our friends and have never had a negative experience with staff. In fact, we have found the people working for Blue Lake to be friendly and helpful. They're definitely one of the reasons we go back.

We have camped at a number of provincial campgrounds in BC and Alberta. Blue Lake Resort is our favourite for spending time with family and friends. Ultimately, it's family-friendly, the lake is beautiful, there's a good selection of camp sites, and the people (staff and other campers) have a friendly vibe.

Room Tip: Sites inland and close to the playground tend to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFin1, General Manager at Blue Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your camping experience. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a good time. Our site variety is certainly one of the more interesting aspects of our campground, and something we would count as a benefit to our Resort.

We do try to maintain a balance between noise allowances and regulations, and we hope that the end result is that our customers feel as though they are respected and in turn act respectfully to others.

We are grateful that you chose to introduce more and more friends to our resort. We enjoy that we can offer them the same holiday experience that you have come to expect. Our staff look forward to when we have the privilege of hosting you next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I don't really want to write this post because I want to keep this rare magical place secret.

We have been repeat customers 2 years. Our friend who told us about The Blue Lake Resort, Has gone every year for the last 5 years.

Most "Blue Lakers" seem to be like this.

Blue lake rides the razors edge between "camping" and "Resort"; and does it perfectly. The sounds of families playing on the beach and frolicking in the water can be heard all day.

There are bugs (bug - spray & netting for sure), field mice, and snakes; It's the wilderness they're SUPPOSED to be there. A little foresight and knowledge will make all the difference.

Driving off the highway, you go up a little logging road into a secret valley where everyone leaves you alone and there no problems except those you create for yourself.

We booked cabin 2, (the best cabin) for 5 nights and had a great time. The cabin has a kind of rustic goodness to it. Everything works and most of the windows have screens. Bring1 fan per person and a shade structure as it gets HOT, (even on the porch) but that what the lake is for.

For hiking, a short basic hike takes you to the summit, where you could sit and drink deep the view all day. (Try to be there during a full moon. Trust me.)

As a Scuba Diver I take my Buddies there to train and practice. From our dock it's like jumping into a pool with 20 foot visibility. (Grassy mud bottom, 40ft max depth) Bring a shorty for sure; but you can jump in and out in shorts no problem. There's a sharp thermocline at about 12 ft where a wetsuit is a must.

A great place to test SCUBA gear, swim, talk, have a campfire or a breath holding contest. High brush give privacy and cabin 2 has a jacuzzi 40ft from the lake. It's perfect. You would be hard pressed to find a better deal for a pet friendly lake house in the province.

The day we left, some kids were having and impromptu "Boys VS Girls" canoe race that made my heart warm. Blue Lake the kind of place Robert Service would write a poem about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFin1, General Manager at Blue Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
That was... beautiful. Thank you.

I agree completely, Blue Lake is a wonderful place full of wilderness and summer fun. Our lake in unparalleled in my opinion. Having your family come up and scuba dive is one of my favorite parts of the summer. The pictures you take are wonderful.

I can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just spent a week with friends at the Lake, We rented Lake Cabins 1 & 2. The lake is beautiful and felt like a pool, Most of our group were divers and this lake is awesome for SCUBA or Snorkeling. We will be going back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: Lake Cabin 2 has a Hot Tub and is the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cariboo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were surprised to see how big the resort was first off, and we feel the resort has potential. The resort was run down ( washrooms were not maintained, and certainly the outhouses were NOT maintained), and found that it was OK with the resort to CRAM as many people in a campsite as possible. Friends stayed in a cabin that was so hot and bats were in the walls/ceiling scratching all night! YUK.
For the size of the resort the beach area is very small. We found that the "resort rules" were not concrete (no one was biding by quiet times, partiers, etc.)
Although we were disappointed many people seem to flock here. We feel with a some TLC the resort could be a decent resort.
The lake was a nice swimming lake, refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFin1, General Manager at Blue Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We always look for ways to improve ourselves.

I apologize that the washrooms did not meet your standards during your stay. We take full responsibility for not keeping them clean enough, as we know that this is one of the most important aspects of running a campground. There can be no excuse made; we failed you in that regard. Rest assured I will be taking your comments to my cleaning staff and discussing how we should be conducting ourselves in the future.

Our rustic cabins have been known to house bats in the outside wall shingles before, and we certainly do our best to discourage them. It would be impossible for us to eliminate them entirely, as we are not prepared to harm them. They also keep the mosquito count low, but nonetheless it is regrettable when they impact the quality of your stay.

As well, partiers are something we actively try to discourage, but are not in full control of. This is a problem with all campgrounds, and we are no different. Our best course of action when confronting loud guests is to not allow them to return, and over the years we have greatly improved the quality of customers that we have. One night at Cultus Lake would help to illustrate this point.

The two points that we unfortunately cannot accept responsibility for are the heat in the cabins and the size of the beach. The cabins certainly will become hot in the summer, as the axis of the earth shifts towards the sun in the Northern Hemisphere. I have written a letter to my local MP regarding this issue, but have not yet heard back. As well, the size of the beach was determined by glacial activity when the canyon was formed, and I suspect it will not be until the next ice age that we can expect an upgrade. Please understand I am not making fun with these comments, I simply write a lot of management responses and I enjoy being funny. These are legitimate points that other customers should consider when choosing their vacation destination.

I understand that you were very displeased with your stay, but I do hope that you may yet offer us the chance to provide you with a quality vacation, and perhaps change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our 6-family group has been taking annual camping trips together for quite some time now, and we recently enjoyed a 5-night stay at beautiful Blue Lake Resort near Boston Bar, BC. Thanks so much to Jim Findlay and his staff for going out of their way to accommodate us, and for helping to create the great memories we made with our kids and our friends during our stay! We would love to return and my husband and I will definitely be recommending the resort to our other camping friends!

Danine Barnes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danine_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston Bar
18.2 mi away
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
2.0 mi away
REO Rafting Resort
REO Rafting Resort
#1 of 1 in North Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Towne Inne Chuckwagon Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Canyon Alpine Motel
Canyon Alpine Motel
#1 of 1 in North Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mighty Fraser Motel
The Mighty Fraser Motel
#2 of 2 in Boston Bar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake Resort

Property: Blue Lake Resort
Address: 63452 Blue Lake Rd, Boston Bar, British Columbia VOK 1CO, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Boston Bar
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Boston Bar
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Campground Resort that offers an enhanced family experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing