We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but terrible acoustics”

Castro's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible acoustics”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The food was first class. The service was great. But the acoustics were terrible. We were sitting several tables away from a large table of middle aged ladies having a great time but doing their best to talk over each other. If the acoustics were better then loud tables don't impact other diners as much.

But the great food and service will see us going back :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    127
    38
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went with a group of family and friends for dinner. Everybody thoroughly enjoyed their meals. I had the lamb shanks, the special of the day. They were amazing. Others had the Paella, Steak, marinara pasta. The lovely waitress helped my elderly mother with her choices, and is to be congratulated for taking the extra time to do so.
Pleasant atmosphere and whilst busy it was easy to chat amongst ourselves and still hear each other!
We tried numerous restaurants in Coolum and Noosa and this was definitely a favourite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twojays2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Four of us went to Castro's and would highly recommend this restaurant. We all throughly enjoyed our meals. My husband had the Castros Pizza and it was to die for. The best pizza I have every tasted. I had the spaggetti and meatballs which were very tasty. Our friends had the steak and rissotto and they said their meals were delicous.

Would definately go there again when visiting Coolum.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Thanks Castro for a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matchstik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The pizzas are overpriced, simply walk around to the beach front and there is a place offering bigger pizzas considerably cheaper.

I got the seafood marinara... average.

On the bright side, the food came really quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my daughter and hubby for dinner and we all loved it! The marinara is the best I've ever had. Beautiful and fresh seafood with authentic Italian sauce. The amazing smell of cooking from this restaurant while we were sitting on our balcony at coolum caprice is what lured us here. So glad we did! Will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmzzssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castro's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Castro's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing