We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

Castro's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We go to Castro's every now & again. The Steak is always a winner.
On Thursday nights they have a $20 Steak night. Choice of Fillet, Sirlion or Rump with mash and veg or salad and fries.
I have to say for $20 I wasn't expecting a lot, however it was just as good as the steak on their actual menu. Pleasantly surprised.
Their staff are friend and down-to-earth, there's a good vibe and always a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surfagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    129
    38
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, good service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Try the lamb, yoghurt and rocket pizza - a wonderful mix of italian style and Middle eastern flavours. Washed down with a good Coonawara red - heaven on a pizza base.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank samedlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If cheese pizzas you thing order away!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ordered takeaway pizza, worst I've ever had, too much cheese (wrong sort too ), bad pineapple, nothing good really, and I ordered 3 kinds of pizza. Pasta ok , except they put that same crappy cheese on. If you want the runs, order now!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCranage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Special Dinner Treat”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The best smorgasboard that I have been to, at $60.00 per head, but you paid for what you got there was plenty for value.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were in Coolum for just one night and ventured into town to see what we could find for dinner. We walked into Castros and were lucky to get a table, good sign. The service was good and friendly and our meals were great. I wasn't sure what to expect but we will definatley go back again

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank compact_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castro's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Castro's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing