We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, terrible service”
Review of Tandoori Flames

Tandoori Flames
Ranked #23 of 72 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coolum beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, terrible service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am a local and have eaten here on a number of occasions. The food is good, but flavours are inconsistent. The place it let down by poor staff, who do not have the ability to add a simple bill and have little if no waitressing experience. I did try to bring this to the managers attention, however is was too cowardly and weak willed to speak to me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value takeaway”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tasty food, great special with curries and naan. Not the best indian ever but tasty, affordable and generous. I continue to order here as do my friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank QFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, TAS
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good dining experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I dined here on a Friday night. It was cold and raining outside and we were looking forward to some nice hot curry to warm us up. On arrival, we were seated at the front of the restaurant right next to the door. This restaurant obviously has a very good takeaway trade because people waiting on takeaway orders were lined up inside the restaurant, almost surrounding our table and virtually watching us eat. The service was good and the food was good too, but unfortunately, the dining experience ruined the night for us and we couldn't wait to leave. I don't begrudge restaurants having a takeaway trade, but I would expect they would look after their inhouse guests a bit better and try and separate the area for takeaway pick-ups so it is not so intruding to diners. We won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great ! yummy ! BYO”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Great tasty curry. Best in Coolum Beach. The usual curries are all there - butter chicken , etc. but try the eggplant & pumpkin curry. Exceptional !! All the breads are great - try the paswari nann (fruit & nuts) goes extremely well with a wonderful spicey curry. Great location, just a stroll from the esplanade. The locals love it & visitors will too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a vegetarian and a butter chicken curry. They were beautiful. Best curries I have had for a long time. Reasonable price as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Flames also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Tandoori Flames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing