We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmospere and great value BUT”
Review of Captain's Table - CLOSED

Captain's Table
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
2,895 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“Lovely atmospere and great value BUT”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have enjoyed the value lunch a few times and previously said it was one of the best value meals in Australia. It is a lovely setting for lunch, providing you are not attacked by the marauding dinosaurs which are multiplying in numbers.
But did not feel the entrée and main had the same quality as before; the nougat dessert though is a knockout for those who like a sweet finish and don't mind the calories.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid meal, but would not rush back”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice setting and polite staff however one of the dishes we ordered was streak and it was not cooked correctly. Unfortunately by the time this was returned everyone else had nearly finished their meals.

Now that it is the Palmer resort it seems to be lacking the buzz that once existed and the restaurant was certainly not anywhere full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Forget the Politics - this is great value”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are researching lunch venues for our upcoming Golden Wedding and this is the front runner by far. The set menu at $30 for two courses and $35 for three including a glass of wine or beer is really good, no corners cut, portions just right for lunchtime, nicely presented and cool elegant surroundings in a leafy setting with not a dinosaur in sight. Four of us had three courses, a bottle of bubbly to start and a coffee to finish and the bank was still not broken. Around the "Village Square" area of the Resort you can find indoor/outdoor Pasta and Pizza, Asian food, Bistro steaks and a bar, all very pleasant. We were also there when the Clive Palmer campaign was ramping up and I can well understand anyone being put off by visiting then, but the razzmatazz isn't usually in your face - it's certainly worth checking out. PS Ron Wamberal - we loved the nougat too !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super Special”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Captains Table in Coolum Beach had a lunch special, $35 for three courses including a glass of wine or beer.

Normally when restaurants put on specials, it is extremely dissappointing. HOWEVER, this was the exception!!!!
The chef did not cut corners on this menu, every dish was perfect, tasty and creative.
I came out totally shocked as it lived up to my expectation of the write ups in the local magazines.
This restaurant certainly deserves business and hope this taster special brings a lot of repeat customers. I will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
2,895 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“Amazing special menu”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Not sure how long it will last but this is the best quality meal for the price you will get in Australia. We came back for a second visit and it was just as good - friendly and attentive service from Debbie and the food was superb.
Rarely do I have 3 courses but the nougat dessert was irresistible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing