We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced pub grub”
Review of Coolum Surf Club

Coolum Surf Club
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Coolum Beach
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WINNER BEST CLUB QLD AND BEST DINING QLD 2017 Our Beachfront Restaurant serves lunch and dinner 7 days a week.  We have an exciting menu ideal for those long, leisurely lunches or special dinners. You’ll find something on our menu to suit all tastes, from fresh local seafood to homemade gourmet pizzas. Our wide variety of salads, juicy steaks and our fabulous house made desserts will be sure to tantalise your taste buds. Our surf club is the ONLY surf club in Australia to feature a genuine wood fired chargrill, all our steaks are cooked over this iron bark fuelled coal pit giving them a sweet smokey taste you won’t find anywhere else. You can watch our chefs cooking up your delicious steaks on this impressive piece of equipment in our state of the art open kitchen. You can enjoy our delicious food listening to the waves on our stunning deck or inside where we’ve created a comfortable eating area with uninterrupted views of the ocean. Whatever your choice, you are certain to enjoy our fantastic service, delicious food and breathtaking views. The restaurant is also open for breakfast every Sunday morning. Come and join us for a lazy Sunday brunch or kick-start your day with the famous beach-side breakfast – guaranteed to fill you up for the day ahead!
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Over priced pub grub”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Thank goodness for the view! The meals have not improved over the years. Expensive, poor quality and presentation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanelleMountCoolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our club. We are disappointed to hear that we didn't provide you with the experience we should have and sincerely hope that we can offer you a better one in the future.
We take all feedback on board as without this we can not grow and improve, we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    275
    125
    43
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Happier staff would have made it worthwhile”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My Wife had the special mahi mahi fish and described as delicious, our guest the nachos which was a good size but we all thought too spicy and I had the rump which was ordered med/rare and came out still mooing! Closer to raw than rare. The kids both had fish &chips which was also a good size. All the fries were undercooked. Salad sides were a good size and all the sauces had restaurant quality flavor and body. Drinks were expensive, As the other reviews state don't order the steak,Meals are a bit pricey for a surf club and staff who do not seem happy to be there bring down the experience . A surprise as the reviews all seem to get a response from the surf club so one would assume they would act on the feedback from the people that matter most.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andybrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our club. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the fresh fish, however sorry to hear you were disappointed with the rest of your experience.
All reviews and feed back are taken on board and I assure you that we do act on them and do our best to rectify anything that is less than perfect.
We do hope this wont deter you from visiting our beautiful club in the future at which point we hope to provide you with a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way way overpriced - lovely location but fine dining prices...beware”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were recommended by locals as a terrific spot to eat, but sadly disappointed, not just because the image had been "built upo" in our heads, but the price of entress around $16 up and the mains anywhere from $25 up to $40 were just not good food. Thai curry was dry and weak flavoure, the fish over battered barramundi with lifeless greens and overall we can only believe we either hit a bad day or they are changing chefs. Poor for value and taste - if you pay $$, you expect more than this - we forund the local pub at peregian Beach the opposite low prices but great quality. look around for another choice, if you want the view - take a drink on the terrace and enjoy but eat elsewhere - over rated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our surf club, your feed back is invaluable to us and has been passed on to the relevant parties.
I am sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your visit and really hope that we can provide you with a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not good value”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was very disappointed to eat here, despite it being quite busy!
I ordered the 200g Rump with 4 prawns, not only were there no prawns, but the steak was overdone. I did order medium to well, but got a very very well done steak. It was small and not juicy at all.

I have eaten better steaks at other restaurants for half the price of this one.

The prices charged in this club were outrageous....around the price one would pay for a high class place...around the $25 mark average for all our mains. My partners fish was worth around $10 for two thin slices of fish propped up against the salad. Again around $25.

So I say.....NOT good value for money and very poor food anyway.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coralhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the club, we appreciate the feed back as without this we can not improve.
I am disappointed to hear how unhappy you were with your experience, please accept my apologies for this.
Here at the surf club we strive to exceed our customers expectations, we really do hope you will return so we can provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Snitzel Night definitely a good deal”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We have frequented the Surf Club on a Thursday evening for their $10 snitzels. They are proper chicken breast fillets, with a nice coleslaw and chips. Great value and saves you having to do the dishes at home. The staff are friendly, the atmosphere is great and they have a lucky door prize drawn at 7pm. It is family friendly with play areas for the kids. We would certainly recommend to other diners. If you don't like snitzels there are plenty of other choices on the menu but they do cost a little more but they are worth it. To avoid not getting a table give the club a call and you can reserve a table.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum S, Manager at Coolum Surf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of our club, it is great to hear you are a frequent visitor.
We look forward to seeing you for many more schnitzels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolum Surf Club also viewed

Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Mount Coolum, Coolum Beach
 
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
Coolum Beach, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Coolum Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing