We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beach Retreat Coolum
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay. Great location as its closed to the shops and right in front of the beach :) Its about 20mins drive to & from the airport. The staff are really friendly & the place is clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlenars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    101
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
62
152
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Beach Retreat calls itself a "resort motel". All the rooms have balconies overlooking the pools. The pools and landscaping around them make a great setting. The Beach Retreat is opposite a patrolled surf beach and there are restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk. From our balcony we had a great view of the ocean surf. From what we could see most rooms would, though some of the lower level rooms at the back of the complex may not get the same views. There is a games room. We tried to use the air hockey table. However, it kept jamming up and we had to give up. The receptionist was very helpful in trying to get it going again.

The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bedroom and living area had ceiling fans, which we like as we don't like air conditioning that much. We found that we could maintain a comfortable temperature inside with the balcony doors open and the ceiling fans going. There is ducted air conditioning should you need it.

There is no free wi-fi, which these days I find unforgivable. Especially, as many budget motels even offer this service now.

The decor in the living room seemed quite modern and the outdoor setting appeared to be fairly new. The net curtains had some unsightly marks on them and the coffee table top looked a bit battered.

Where this property shows its age is in the bathroom and kitchen. In the kitchen the seals around the sink had started to come away. A dishwasher appears to be an obvious omission. The crockery could be cleaner. We think that previous occupants had only given them a cursory rinse under the tap. We also found left over groceries from the last occupants in the fridge.

In the bathroom the soap tray in the shower looked as though it had seen better days and a bit of descaler wouldn't go amiss in the shower head. There is a washing machine and clothes dryer, so if you are staying for a while you don't need to take heaps of clothes.

Unfortunately, the remote was missing for our TV but that was quickly rectified. However, the TV itself seemed to have a faulty tuner as after 10 minutes of operation all free to air channels locked up completely. There was also a green hue across all pictures.

Other reviewers have mentioned the parking situation. There is enough parking spaces to go around. However, they are not allocated. Some of the spaces are dual spaces (one behind the other). Most of these were occupied by single vehicles, which appeared to force guests with 2 cars to use 2 single spaces. On one night we had to park a few minutes walk away in a side road. This was not easy as many of the spaces close to the resort have 24 hour restrictions on them. I would like to see the resort management introduce a system of allocating car parks to units, when bookings are being made.

In summary, I would say the pros about the location and the facilities in general outweigh the cons. However, most of the cons are minor maintenance and management issues that would not take much to fix. If there were to be corrected then I would say the overall rating and value should be very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on level 3. This way you should get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayBears69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Considering the cost for this time of the year, the whole resort was ok. Great location straight across from the patrolled beach, boardwalk & walking paths, surf club and the shopping strip. The onsite heated pool left our eyes quite sore and irritable. Shame there wasn't a gym. The games room consisted only of 2-3 pinball type machines and an air hockey table, all requiring a parents wallet. Perhaps they could look at a table tennis table as a 'no cost to the guests' game to have available. Our rooms were tidy. The parents bedroom consisted of two single beds pushed together to make a king bed - sorry but that is not a king bed....especially when one of the single bed mattresses had springs that were well-and-truly sprung. No dishwasher equalled bickering from kids when asked to help with the dishes. No oven in the kitchen, only a microwave with a grill in it. When staying for a week or more(as we did), an oven comes in handy.

Having said all of this, it was ok but I wouldn't be rushing back at peak season for the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here for two days.
when we went to check in the staff greeted us warmly. We were given a map of the complex as well as the local area.
Its a 2 minute walk to the beach and shops.

The complex has a pool, sauna, jacuzzi and BBQ area available to all guests.

The studio apartment itself was clean and bright. With everything we needed for our short stay. Washing machines and dryers were located on the ground floor for those staying in a studio.

On checkout Wade recalled my girlfriends name. Its Irish so a bit difficult to pronounce for non Irish people. It was a nice touch. The reception dog was lovely too. Sitting there on its chair.

My only negative comment would be the level of "sticky dust" in the vent in the bathroom and ceiling fan in the main room. Other than that everything else was clean, tidy and well presented.

Would stay again if in Coolum Beach.


Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hallamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Beach Retreat. We had a one bedroom apartment with beach views. We were very impressed with everything from the size of the room to the retreat's facilities. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - being a stones throw away from the beach, surf club, shops, cafes and restaurants you can walk to everything so you don't need a car if you are just going to stay in Coolum. We cannot fault our overall experience at the Beach Retreat. We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The family and I booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were very impressed by the size, cleanliness and inclusions. Wished we could have stayed longer. Free secure undercover carpark, great pool and BBQ area...AND....Coolum beach across the road

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dajolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in October and enjoyed our stay at the Beach Retreat. We chose a motel unit as we didn't plan to be in the room much and for two, it's all that's needed. Check in was quick and smooth, with free undercover parking. The room was fine with a OK view over the pool to the beach across the road. Ample space and plenty of storage. The bathroom was also large but the shower over the spa bath was a bit awkward getting in and out - would be a real problem for people with limited mobility. Bed was comfy with plenty of pillows to choose from. Can't fault it really. The only thing to be aware of is that they do not make up the room or replenish coffee/tea etc during your stay. But for the price and location, it was not an issue for us - we just went to the super market and bought coffee and milk. As mentioned by others, the beach is directly across and the Coolum shopping strip with many restaurants and cafes is 20 metres down the road. It is probably the best location to stay in Coolum, if not the entire Sunny coast (I'm not a fan of Noosa and prefer quieter places). Lovely stay and would happily return next time we're up on the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
Coolum Baywatch Resort
Coolum Baywatch Resort
#13 of 18 in Coolum Beach
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Retreat Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Retreat Coolum

Property: The Beach Retreat Coolum
Address: 1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Retreat Coolum 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Retreat Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Retreat Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Flag Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing