We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Coolum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beach Retreat Coolum
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The family and I booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were very impressed by the size, cleanliness and inclusions. Wished we could have stayed longer. Free secure undercover carpark, great pool and BBQ area...AND....Coolum beach across the road

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dajolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in October and enjoyed our stay at the Beach Retreat. We chose a motel unit as we didn't plan to be in the room much and for two, it's all that's needed. Check in was quick and smooth, with free undercover parking. The room was fine with a OK view over the pool to the beach across the road. Ample space and plenty of storage. The bathroom was also large but the shower over the spa bath was a bit awkward getting in and out - would be a real problem for people with limited mobility. Bed was comfy with plenty of pillows to choose from. Can't fault it really. The only thing to be aware of is that they do not make up the room or replenish coffee/tea etc during your stay. But for the price and location, it was not an issue for us - we just went to the super market and bought coffee and milk. As mentioned by others, the beach is directly across and the Coolum shopping strip with many restaurants and cafes is 20 metres down the road. It is probably the best location to stay in Coolum, if not the entire Sunny coast (I'm not a fan of Noosa and prefer quieter places). Lovely stay and would happily return next time we're up on the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place closes at 5 ON THE DOT. Don't bother driving in at 5 or even a minute too. Amber informed me upon entering reception at 5pm that they had closed, she had been working 9 hours and could not help me because she had logged out. SERIOUSLY. I am glad I don't own a unit at this complex under management. When I asked her to call the manager, she refused, when I asked for the managers name, she advised it was confidential. I have never EVER had such disgusting service and poor attitude in any establishment EVER. I did manage to check in at the point up the road, who also close at 5 pm but were happy to check me in at 5.30. So go there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
6  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Top Value!! Excellent views from the balcony, even saw whales heading south. Room was excellent, pillows a bit hard, air conditioner worked well, bit weird basically getting locked in at night, had to escape down the stairs to get out after hours... Very Happy overall!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank dhall49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked online, asking only for ocean views. The Beach Retreat is right across the road from the beach. Just a short walk from at least 20 eating places, coffee houses and pubs, so you can find any type of food you want. The pools are great, the one bedroom unit we stayed in has plenty of room. Washer/dryer if you are staying a while. Yes, they have been there a while, but are very clean and well looked after. Large balcony with a good size table and chairs. We will book again.

Room Tip: We were in the middle, the security lights go all night, BUT they do have great black out curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very central to everything in Coolum Beach and the room was clean and it was value for money. No microwave or toaster though! The only pet motel on the Sunshine Coast was only 20 minutes away at Noosa. Beautiful part of the Sunshine Coast...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a week here in a very nice spacious apartment, with fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, dryer, separate bedrooms, comfortable lounge with large TV, movies and many channels. Ocean is just across the road, and views of this from the balcony, enabled us to watch numerous surfers riding in on the waves.
Under cover lock-up parking was most helpful, as we could park the rental car without any concerns. Coolum is a small resort town on the Sunshine Coast, with shops and many cafes and restaurants just a few metres' walk up the road. If you're a sea swimmer, the manned surf club is nearby. A full meal at the bowling club (we're not members) cost six dollars; at the surf club twelve dollars. Prices in cafes and restaurants are similar to NZ.
The Beach Retreat has a heated swimming pool, spa pool, children's play pool, and sauna for the use of guests. Our trip was bought on a package deal that included return flights from Auckland, and accom for seven nights, all incl. for less than a thousand. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolum Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coolum Motel
Coolum Motel
#14 of 18 in Coolum Beach
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Retreat Coolum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Retreat Coolum

Address: 1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Coolum Beach
Price Range: $72 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Retreat Coolum 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Beach Retreat Coolum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Retreat Coolum Hotel Coolum Beach
Flag Hotel Coolum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing