We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolum Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My friend & I spent 5 nights at Coolum Beach Resort and had a wonderful holiday. Great location with an easy walk to nice shops, multiple dining options and close to a beautiful beach. The room was spacious and clean with very comfortable beds and everything needed for our use. Enjoyed the use of the pool, spa and sauna and dined out at Castros and the Surf Club. Both were fantastic and well priced. Sandy & Brett were very helpful in arranging our shuttle bus to & from Brisbane Airport and also to & from the Eumundi Market..Very friendly people, nothing was too much trouble and a great price too. We will be back for sure :-)) Di & Judy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi Di and Judy
Thank you for your kind words. Great to hear you enjoyed our facilities, service and restaurants/Surf Club. Would love to see you come back again soon. It was a pleasure having you stay. Many thanks. Brett & Sandy Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had 4 nights at Coolum Beach Resort and could not fault it. Rooms were of 5 star quality, with everything you need at the resort, except the beach, which is about 1.5 mins away!! I travel Australia often for work, and look forward to my next conference at Coolum. I will actually book my whole work team into the Coolum Beach Resort next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi David
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay again in the future. Take care - Brett & Sandy Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have holidayed at Coolum Beach Resort for the last three years, the location is great close to all things that one would want to access, beach, transport, clubs shops etc. The rooms are clean, comfortable and are well equipped with all things we required. The hosts Sandy and Brett were courteous and friendly catering for any needs we required, ie:- booking tours, transport to air ports etc. All the surrounds and pool are kept spotless. The two restaurants in the resort offer a great friendly atmosphere for a casual meal. A GREAT PLACE TO STAY Ray S

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi Ray,
Thank you for your review. Three years in a row and hopefully more to come. We look forward to seeing you on your yearly visits. Hope you survived the cold winter in Albury and that the sun is finally shining as Spring is in the air. All the best and take care. Brett & Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband & I have been coming to Coolum Beach Resort every year for the past 12 years. It has become our home away from home, escaping the cold Winter Months in Victoria for approximately 8 weeks a year. We have stayed in numerous apartments over this time & have found them all to be comfortable, spotless, well maintained & serviced, but over the last 5 years have chosen our own special one bedroom apartment that has easy access & only one flight of stairs. Also this particular apartment has recently had a makeover with a new comfortable QS bed, new leather lounge suit and new floor coverings in living area. It also has been repainted & tastefully decorated throughout.
We have a lovely balcony that looks out over the pool area & a view of the ocean. There is also a great outdoor area with a B.B.Q & dining setting. Castro's Restaurant which is part of the Resort has beautiful meals & a great friendly atmosphere, not forgetting the Indian Restaurant which is also part of this complex. It really is a perfect location, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, all beachfront cafe's & shops just a hop, step & a jump away. The managers of the resort have made a multitude of improvements since taking over including a revamp of the gardens which provide a lovely tropical atmosphere.
I have taken the time to read all the views expressed on this site and support the positive things that have been said. With regard to the negative I guess you can't please everyone ! Certainly the comments regarding the cleanliness are a bit puzzling.
The managers are a very friendly and obliging couple who go out of their way to provide everything & anything to make your stay very pleasurable & relaxing.
We recommend Coolum Beach Resort as a place to stay whilst on the Sunshine Coast. Coolum Beach is centrally located on the Sunshine Coast with a multitude of places and activities to visit. If you just want to soak up the atmosphere then the Coolum Beach Resort is certainly the place to stay.

Room Tip: For a couple Unit 21 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 203Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Pam
Thank you for kind comments. We love catching up with you on your yearly visits escaping the cold winter months. We love the fact that you see the improvements/renovations each time you visit our Resort. We work on making the Resort a home-away-from-home for our guests. Take care and look forward to catching up again. Kind Regards Brett & Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked for 4 nights - would have checked out upon entry but the trip was for the kids to go to the beach and other attractions so it was not worth our while to go early due to costs of cancelling. The fridge did not work and had to be replaced. The room was so dirty we spent 4 hours cleaning it on the first day. All the dishes in the apartment had to be washed in the dishwasher before using them. The unit was old and outdated. Gives you an uncomfortable feeling due to the rug and cushions being stained and dusty. Very uncomfortable for that length of time, and with the amount of money you had to pay - definitely not worth it. The electric BBQ does not heat up enough to cook and had to take the half cooked food to the unit and try and cook it in batches in the fry pan and electric fry pan. Very bad, will not go back...ever.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so don't think about staying there if you have a family as you have to walk u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Coolum Beach Resort.

It’s certainly disappointing to note your unsatisfactory experience, and we regret not being able to rescue the situation by offering you i.e. another apartment.

Coolum Beach Resort is situated only 50 metres to the beach so we are glad that we could help with the close proximity for the family to enjoy this part of your stay.

The stainless steel fridge was only 3 weeks old and when informed it was not working properly and on inspection, a technician was phoned immediately. On request by yourselves we moved a fridge from another apartment for your stay.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the cleaning and we will monitor this aspect more closely however we would have attended to any issues immediately if brought to our attention.

We have noted your comments on the Electric BBQ which we have recently tested and appear to be working fine now however we apologise if it did not meet your expectations. We do also have two Gas BBQ’s on site which may have resolved the issue or we could have helped with the use of the Electric BBQ if notified of problems.

Our Resort is a walk-up which is clearly stated on our website. We do have ground floor apartments, in fact four 2 Bedroom Townhouses . If there was a problem with stairs and luggage, we are always happy to assist and give a helping hand when needed.

We are always looking for feedback to improve our guest experience. We have taken your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Every year, I spend at least a few days here - and I keep coming back over and over.

The location is brilliant, and it's a "home away from home".

My favorite part of the whole trip is waking up and looking out over the ocean each day.

The staff here are friendly and courteous - although we only see them at the start and end of our trip.

Undercover parking means the car is always cool to get into.

There are plenty of great cafes and restaurants nearby. And Noosa or Mooloolabah are only a short (and scenic) drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My parents booked this for a holiday with me in a 2 bedroom suite. What a bad decision, the room was dark and smelt and hadn't been aired for months. We tried to change our booking once we saw the room. Even though we hadn't even used the toilet or touched the bed they charged us $245 for the cancellation (1 night according to them). The new Palmer report down the road only charges $195 so they are thieves in my opinion.

Room Tip: Go to the Coolum Beach Retreat to get a decent stay with great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wathend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumBeach, Manager at Coolum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Resort. We were disappointed that you did not wish to stay with us.

As the first apartment which was a 2 Bedroom Townhouse was not acceptable due to the kitchen/living area being upstairs we immediately transferred you to another apartment where you appeared to be happy. After some time however you then changed your mind and decided that one bathroom was not convenient for three guests to share and wanted to leave offering us one night payment to do so.

Your offer of paying for one night stay was accepted by us because you wished to cancel the rest of your stay. For cancellations with less than 14 days notice, we are not obligated to refund the deposit paid and any early departures we are not obligated to refund any moneys paid.

We had asked was there any problem with the room and was told it was only the fact of the one bathroom issue.

This apartment had not been aired that morning ready for guests as we normally do, as we were not expecting guests to use this apartment that day.

Again, thank you for your input as all feedback is important to us, be it good or bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.5 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
548 reviews
9.4 mi away
Alex Seaside Resort
Alex Seaside Resort
#4 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Retreat Coolum
The Beach Retreat Coolum
#14 of 18 in Coolum Beach
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolum Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolum Beach Resort

Address: 7-13 Beach Rd, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range: $75 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coolum Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coolum Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing