We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, a bit too far from the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Point Coolum Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing views, a bit too far from the resort”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a lovely couple of nights at the Point earlier this year. The best part was undoubtedly the amazing view from our balcony, which could keep us entertained for hours (and certainly made the time around sunrise more bearable when I was up with our young baby).

The accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Superficially it was clean, although (as with many holiday units) the furniture and doors were a bit grimy and could have benefited from a deep clean.

The walk to the main resort of Coolum seemed much further than 1km. It was extremely hot during our stay and we attempted the walk twice but it was too far with a pram and a baby. If you have young children or want easy and frequent access to the main amenities, I’d suggest staying closer into Coolum. If you just want to chill out with beautiful ocean views and don’t mind jumping in the car every now and then, the Point is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thankyou for your review. We agree that the views at The Point Coolum are amazing. These views are obtained by being slightly out of town, on one of the higher points of Coolum. Being 1km from the main centre allows our guests a quiet and relaxing environment to enjoy their holiday. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    83
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
133
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

One of the best places I have stayed. I normally avoid Coolum as most of the accommodation sits on busy and noisy David Low Way. We were a group of two couples and two singles. The two bedroom executive apartments we booked were higher up on the hill and very quiet with lovely views from the top, living area floors. There were two car parks and the apartments are very spacious with living areas upstairs including a sitting area with pull out sofa bed and bifold doors that can create an extra sleeping space if needed. There is a powder room as well. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms downstairs. Coastal walks can be accessed right across the road and it is an easy stroll into Coolum.

Room Tip: Ask for apartments furtherest from the road. I understand all rooms have some views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirrel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thankyou for your review. Our hill top villas are superbly appointed and situated well away from the road. They are large, spacious and have a Northeast view of the ocean and coastline. We are happy that you had such an enjoyable stay and were able to appreciate the peace and tranquillity of our hilltop villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent the Easter weekend in unit 11, it was spacious, clean with great furnishings. The complex was quiet and peaceful, we enjoyed staying immensely and would do so again (please note you have to drive to Coolum Beach). I would recommend "The Point" to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thankyou for your review. Villa 11 is situated in the Hilltop Villas. They are in a quiet position allowing guests to fully appreciate the amazing views along the coastline. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed in apartment 49 for two nights. It was a two bedroom apartment and the views of the ocean are nothing short of exceptional!

The apartment is very large and could easily accommodate a family for a week or more. The bedrooms are an opposite ends which is nice for privacy. There are two bathrooms as well.

This location is designed for people who want to be out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Coolum. It's not walking distance to the shops (well, it's very hilly so if it's hot, you'll need to take it slow!). It is only a two minute drive though to lovely cafes and the beach.

The afternoons on the balcony are the most magical time of the day. Definitely worth sitting down with some cheese and wine to relax. There was no BBQ on the balcony but I'm guessing there is likely one somewhere in the complex.

The only slight downside was the heat in the morning when the sun comes up from the sea. The bedrooms and living area cop a blasting when the sun rises! Fortunately there is air conditioning in the bedrooms and living area which makes it very comfortable.

I would definitely stay at this complex again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for your review. The large balconies in the Coral Sea Villas allow for exceptional ocean views and gentle winds. Barbecues are available for hire for $30 per stay, and are installed on your balcony for your convenience. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just spent 6 days in a Coral Sea villa with awesome views of the sea. We woke up each day to great weather which we enjoyed while having breakfast on our large balcony. During the day we either sat on our sun lounges reading or walked to the local beaches a couple of 100 metres away or swam in the pool.
The unit suited our needs for the 2 of us. The Point Coolum Beach resort is on the start of a hilly rise but this didn't stop us enjoying our daily walk of about 1 kilometre to Coolum & its beach along a well set out footpath.
Highly recommend the place for young & older couples of all ages especially if you can get around.

Room Tip: Higher up Coral sea units have better views & more private. Hill top units have small balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our one bedroom apartments in our Coral Sea sections. They are well equipped for couples and the oversized balconies allow you to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunshine and ocean views. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in a coral sea villa which was well equipped with everything we needed and beautiful ocean views. Walk to shops with kids was around 30 minutes but a great walk with lovely views all the way. Will definitely stay again. Pat & Deb

Room Tip: Check villa type and its amenities before booking as there are different types. East facing villas h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Being a little bit out of Coolum allows The Point to offer a peaceful and tranquil holiday for our guests. The walk to Coolum along the ocean boardwalk is about 1 kilometre but the coastline scenery make it seem much shorter. We also have several bush walking paths offering further ways to explore the coastline. Thankyou for your review and we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have just spent 3 days in unit 46 & was disappointed with the unit. Very dated decor & furnishings.There was no aircon or even ceiling fan in the bedroom.Shops & restaurants are definitely not within walking distance.Secluded beach in front of resort is across the road & then quite a walk (would definatley be an effort with small children).I mentioned my concerns to staff Saturday morning & was advised that new owners had taken over this Unit & previous owners didn't see the need to do any improvements & new owners hadn't had time.$150 a night I thought was excessive.My husband & I regularly go to the Gold Coast but decided to try Sunshine Coast for a change......doubt if we will go again,much better value for money at the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazdimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Our standard one bedroom units are open plan with large doors from the bedroom and living area onto an oversized balcony allowing you to capture beautiful ocean views and breezes. If you prefer to keep the doors closed , the open plan also allows the air- conditioning to flow through the entire unit. The Point Coolum is very difficult to compare with the Gold Coast, we do not have a casino, nightclubs or large shopping malls, what we do offer is ocean views, tranquil gardens and a peaceful, relaxing and secluded getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
1.0 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
10.2 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Property: The Point Coolum Beach
Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas and penthouses suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay.The Point-Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views in luxury Villa style accommodation situated over our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Hyatt Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. Secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep. The layout of our property & villas are ideal for corporate retreats, informal meetings and family get-togethers. Combine the comfort and convenience, and our fabulous views with our superb golf packages makes The Point-Coolum Beach perfect for your next executive retreat or team building exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing