We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Point Coolum Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional views”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I recently stayed in apartment 49 for two nights. It was a two bedroom apartment and the views of the ocean are nothing short of exceptional!

The apartment is very large and could easily accommodate a family for a week or more. The bedrooms are an opposite ends which is nice for privacy. There are two bathrooms as well.

This location is designed for people who want to be out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Coolum. It's not walking distance to the shops (well, it's very hilly so if it's hot, you'll need to take it slow!). It is only a two minute drive though to lovely cafes and the beach.

The afternoons on the balcony are the most magical time of the day. Definitely worth sitting down with some cheese and wine to relax. There was no BBQ on the balcony but I'm guessing there is likely one somewhere in the complex.

The only slight downside was the heat in the morning when the sun comes up from the sea. The bedrooms and living area cop a blasting when the sun rises! Fortunately there is air conditioning in the bedrooms and living area which makes it very comfortable.

I would definitely stay at this complex again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou for your review. The large balconies in the Coral Sea Villas allow for exceptional ocean views and gentle winds. Barbecues are available for hire for $30 per stay, and are installed on your balcony for your convenience. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    83
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
133
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just spent 6 days in a Coral Sea villa with awesome views of the sea. We woke up each day to great weather which we enjoyed while having breakfast on our large balcony. During the day we either sat on our sun lounges reading or walked to the local beaches a couple of 100 metres away or swam in the pool.
The unit suited our needs for the 2 of us. The Point Coolum Beach resort is on the start of a hilly rise but this didn't stop us enjoying our daily walk of about 1 kilometre to Coolum & its beach along a well set out footpath.
Highly recommend the place for young & older couples of all ages especially if you can get around.

Room Tip: Higher up Coral sea units have better views & more private. Hill top units have small balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our one bedroom apartments in our Coral Sea sections. They are well equipped for couples and the oversized balconies allow you to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunshine and ocean views. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in a coral sea villa which was well equipped with everything we needed and beautiful ocean views. Walk to shops with kids was around 30 minutes but a great walk with lovely views all the way. Will definitely stay again. Pat & Deb

Room Tip: Check villa type and its amenities before booking as there are different types. East facing villas h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Being a little bit out of Coolum allows The Point to offer a peaceful and tranquil holiday for our guests. The walk to Coolum along the ocean boardwalk is about 1 kilometre but the coastline scenery make it seem much shorter. We also have several bush walking paths offering further ways to explore the coastline. Thankyou for your review and we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have just spent 3 days in unit 46 & was disappointed with the unit. Very dated decor & furnishings.There was no aircon or even ceiling fan in the bedroom.Shops & restaurants are definitely not within walking distance.Secluded beach in front of resort is across the road & then quite a walk (would definatley be an effort with small children).I mentioned my concerns to staff Saturday morning & was advised that new owners had taken over this Unit & previous owners didn't see the need to do any improvements & new owners hadn't had time.$150 a night I thought was excessive.My husband & I regularly go to the Gold Coast but decided to try Sunshine Coast for a change......doubt if we will go again,much better value for money at the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazdimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Our standard one bedroom units are open plan with large doors from the bedroom and living area onto an oversized balcony allowing you to capture beautiful ocean views and breezes. If you prefer to keep the doors closed , the open plan also allows the air- conditioning to flow through the entire unit. The Point Coolum is very difficult to compare with the Gold Coast, we do not have a casino, nightclubs or large shopping malls, what we do offer is ocean views, tranquil gardens and a peaceful, relaxing and secluded getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

By staying slightly out of town, you avoid the crowds and the evening noise, particularly when it gets busy over summer. It is useful having a car when staying here. The one bedroom unit was reasonably furnished but the plumbing wasn't the best and the bed not very comfortable. The ceilings are low, which may explain why there are no ceiling fans, and the building was not built to take advantage of the breeze that comes up from the sea. This means that we needed to have the airconditioning on at night when the temperature would not usually have justified it. The views are beautiful and the lovely large balconies make up for everything else. Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank further40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
The large balconies off our one bedroom units are a wonderful way to relax over a glass of wine or cup of tea and enjoy the view of the ocean. The Point has been well designed to capture the gentle ocean breezes but be protected the strong winds that are generally associated with coastal towns. It allows you to enjoy the large balconies and ocean views all year round. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The Point was an excellent place to stay, well situated with beautiful ocean views. The management were the best I have dealt with. Excellent large protected balconies were certainly an added bonus.
Thank you for a great long weekend stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thankyou for your review. Our One Bedroom Villas have such large balconies flowing off them allowing you to capture the amazing views and truly relax. You were such a wonderful couple and we would welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in villa 49. It was beautifully furnished, spacious, private and had lovely views of the ocean. Staff were very professional. A car is needed to go into town and the patrolled beach. There is nothing to fault about this accomodation and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Speak with staff prior to booking as they are helpful in recommending a room to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
The Coral Sea Villas offer amazing views and the apartments are modern and spacious with large balconies allowing for entertaining guests who just soaking up the sunshine and views. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
1.0 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coolum Beach Resort
Coolum Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in Coolum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
10.2 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Property: The Point Coolum Beach
Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas and penthouses suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay.The Point-Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views in luxury Villa style accommodation situated over our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Hyatt Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. Secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep. The layout of our property & villas are ideal for corporate retreats, informal meetings and family get-togethers. Combine the comfort and convenience, and our fabulous views with our superb golf packages makes The Point-Coolum Beach perfect for your next executive retreat or team building exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing