We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Coolum Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

By staying slightly out of town, you avoid the crowds and the evening noise, particularly when it gets busy over summer. It is useful having a car when staying here. The one bedroom unit was reasonably furnished but the plumbing wasn't the best and the bed not very comfortable. The ceilings are low, which may explain why there are no ceiling fans, and the building was not built to take advantage of the breeze that comes up from the sea. This means that we needed to have the airconditioning on at night when the temperature would not usually have justified it. The views are beautiful and the lovely large balconies make up for everything else. Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank further40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

The large balconies off our one bedroom units are a wonderful way to relax over a glass of wine or cup of tea and enjoy the view of the ocean. The Point has been well designed to capture the gentle ocean breezes but be protected the strong winds that are generally associated with coastal towns. It allows you to enjoy the large balconies and ocean views all year round. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Point was an excellent place to stay, well situated with beautiful ocean views. The management were the best I have dealt with. Excellent large protected balconies were certainly an added bonus.
Thank you for a great long weekend stay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thankyou for your review. Our One Bedroom Villas have such large balconies flowing off them allowing you to capture the amazing views and truly relax. You were such a wonderful couple and we would welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in villa 49. It was beautifully furnished, spacious, private and had lovely views of the ocean. Staff were very professional. A car is needed to go into town and the patrolled beach. There is nothing to fault about this accomodation and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Speak with staff prior to booking as they are helpful in recommending a room to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

The Coral Sea Villas offer amazing views and the apartments are modern and spacious with large balconies allowing for entertaining guests who just soaking up the sunshine and views. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We love our accommodation
3br villa is perfect, everything we need, not too busy with traffic, love hearing the ocean.
The best views.
Cannot fault our stay,just not sure why cars are always parked on the downhill side of the road outside the villas?

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Lodges_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

The big three bedroom terrace penthouses are nestled into the canopy of a natural rainforest with views out along the coastline towards Noosa. They make for a quiet and peaceful getaway or family gathering. Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have stayed here several times over the years since a friend made a recommendation. We have stayed in 1 bedroom, 2 bedrooms and a Penthouse with 3 bedrooms and have never been disappointed with the facilities on offer.

You are initially supplied with enough soaps, toilet paper, dishwasher powder etc. for the first couple of days so you will need to buy some additional supplies which can be annoying... although on our last stay we asked reception for some additional supplies and it wasn't a problem.

Location, Location, Location can't be beaten by the magnificent views up and down the coast or simply the view from the balcony to the ocean which is amazing and very relaxing. There are plenty of stores nearby to allow you to purchase supplies so that you can make your own meals or take a leisurely stroll into Coolum Beach and eat at one of the many great restaurants.

See my other reviews for some great places to eat while staying in the area. There are also a number of attractions just a short drive away that can provide great entertainment; Australia Zoo, Aquarium, Ginger Factory etc. or spend your time at one of the great beaches along this strip of coastline.

On all visits to this part of Queensland we have always had a great time and the weather has always been pleasant; nice and hot in summer and winters are possibly the best time to visit as the cool weather is actually quiet pleasant.

You will certainly not be disappointed by your stay at this property and they cater for all groups of singles right through to multiple couples.

Room Tip: Calling the property will allow you to get the right room as they have different numbers of bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clancy-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolumCaprice, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thankyou for your review and continued support over the years. Settled on the top of Point Arkwright all of our Villas have such amazing views, no matter the size. We have a number of different styles and configurations within the resort and our helpful staff are more than happy to discuss the different accommodation types. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Darryl.Mackay QLD Excellent surroundings,accomodation and staff.This would be the best place we have stayed at in a very long time.Close to everything you need to complete a wonderful stay.The view of the ocean from our balcony was stunning during the day and romantic at night with the moon shinning over the water.

Room Tip: The Villas are beautiful,well set out and have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thankyou for your review. The views at The Point Coolum are amazing. When combined with the abundant gardens and large Villas it makes for a perfect weekend getaway. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our recent stay at The Point in Coolum was a little bit of heaven. A peaceful retreat from our everyday lives. Panoramic views of the ocean from the hilltop vantage and only the sound of the birds in the nearby gardens to disturb the peace. Friendly resort staff made our stay a pleasure. The unit we stayed in was beautiful, with all the little extra creature comforts one could wish for, we really felt at home. A lovely stroll along a beachside boardwalk takes you back to reality and the hustle and bustle of the shops and sidewalk Cafés of Coolum. A beautiful swimming beach with a variety of restaurants and Take-always to suit all tastes. The nearby Eumundi Markets were a delight and a short trip to Noosa for a walk in the National Park rounded off our perfect holiday, our first without our two children in tow. It felt like a second honeymoon. Shirley Webber

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We are glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us. The gardens and grounds combined with the ocean views make The Point are perfect escape for a relaxing holiday. Being the perfect distance from Coolum Main Beach we offer a lovely balance between peace and quiet, and the hustle and bustle of a busy beachside community. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolum Beach
0.9 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coolum at the Beach
Coolum at the Beach
#3 of 4 in Coolum Beach
160 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
9.6 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,218 reviews
10.4 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Coolum Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Coolum Beach

Address: 1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Coolum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Coolum Beach
Price Range: $130 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Point Coolum Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in Coolum Beach on Australia's beautiful Sunshine Coast and offering panoramic ocean views over Coolum's secluded bays, world class golf courses nearby and only a short stroll into Coolum Village with a range of shopping and dining options. It's your gateway to experiencing all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer. Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay. The Point -Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views from all villas throughout our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Palmer Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. A secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep, a whale watching platform 200 metres away and the Coastal Pathway is immediately across the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Point Coolum Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing