We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Point Coolum Beach
Nearby Hotels
$172
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coolum Motel(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$76
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Surf Dance(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$143
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolum at the Beach(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$173
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacove Resort(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolum Baywatch Resort(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$172
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coolum Dreams Bed & Breakfast(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Coolum Seaside Resort(Coolum Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
186
88
28
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
88
28
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral seabedroom executivereal holidaysecond levelhilltop villaswalk into townthe lower levelthe kitchensunshine coaststayed one nightamazing viewsbeautiful oceanpeaceful locationpleasant walkmain beachlonger staybus stop
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 306 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at The Point for five nights recently. We return to The Point annually because the views are breathtaking; the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable; and the management strike the right balance between being professional and warm. The balconies are perfect for leisurely Winter breakfasts and lunch. The walks in either direction from The Point are easy and beautiful; the local shops and cafe strip supply everything we need and want when on holidays; and everything else the Sunshine Coast has to offer is close by. We don't bother looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different room categories now and were very happy with both. They all have amazing views and are all clean and well appointed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thankyou for your kind review. Our views are spectacular, particularly in May/June/July when the ocean is magical and the whales are coming passed. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked a two bedroom executive villa (#49) for an early Mothers Day present. After an exceptionally tough start to the year for my mother, my partner and I spent a fair amount of time searching the internet for great locations and hotels to ensure that her Mothers Day was one show our appreciation and one for my parents to remember. My first impression of The Point was that the service was impeccable - from the moment that I phoned to make the reservation, right through to the time that we checked out. The staff were welcoming; helping me pick the perfect villa and obliging my request for champagne on arrival.

The villa was spacious, clean and felt like a home away from home. With the on-site facilities available and the proximity to the main street of Coolum, it would be ideal for a long family stay or a weekend getaway with friends. The villa was ideal for wine and cheese on the balcony in the afternoon sun, where we enjoyed the uninterrupted 180 degree view of the coastline. The bathrooms and ensuites were large, and showers felt like rain. A short 10 minute walk along the beach on the raised wooden walkway was beautiful at sunset, with so many restaurants to chose from. The soft beds were great to collapse into after a long night, and the sunrise view from our room the next morning was amazing.

In true motherly fashion, mum took close to 6 trillion photos during our stay and raves about our villa to anyone who will listen. She was like a little, excited, shaking Chihuahua the whole trip, and our stay at The Point was the cherry on the top of a successful holiday. I would recommend visiting the Eumundi markets on the Saturday morning before check-in, and taking a leisurely drive along the coastline on your way home. Coolum is a little piece of the Sunshine Coast that remains genuinely untarnished from tourism, and we cannot wait to return for our next holiday.

Room Tip: Villa 49 is a modern villa, with comfortable leather lounges and glossy magazines for the women, and a fatscreen TV and DVD set up for the men.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayli00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thankyou very much for your glowing review. The staff at The Point Coolum are always willing to go the extra step to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. I am glad your mother was so happy and we would love to see you all again soon. As a repeat guest you could be eligible for a 10% discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the point for two nights for our wedding anniversary. The room we stayed in had an amazing view of all the ocean was amazing!!.

The staff were very friendly and did not disturb us at all.They even left us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary and a note saying congratulations. ..was very thoughtful.

The apartment was huge had a huge balcony with tables and chairs on it.

We loved every part of it.

The point is not really walking distances to any shops or food but it's not far to drive to anything. It is close to a walking path that leads to amazing views of everything.

The pool even know it says it is heated was still pretty cold...and not as nice as most pools we have seen just average.
BUT I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN. And I don't say that to many places.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thankyou for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary. A quiet resort with natural rainforest and a magnificent view of the coastline is a great way to spend a romantic weekend with a loved one. Our pool is heated, but we will have a look at the temperature control now that it getting cooler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay at the Point was an extended one. Our intention was to move around a little more, however we were so comfortable with the accommodation, the location , the view, and the staff, it would have been difficult to find an equal. Instead, we chose to take shorter day trips from this location. The weather was not the greatest initially, however the view was always incredible, particularly if you are a fan of weather watching, surfer watching, ship and sailboat watching, and bird watching. All of which can be viewed from one, or,all three available balconies. Forget to mention stargazing, once Mother Nature decided to move the rain out of the area, the sky at night is simply amazing.
All services are within walking distance, an easy stroll to anywhere.
This place is a gem, one of those places you wish someone had told you about before you
paid for that other accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thankyou for your review. The Bay Terrace Villas are in an amazing location sitting on top of the natural rainforest canopy with the most amazing views over Coolum. We would love to have you back so please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Can thoroughly recommend this delightful resort which reminds me a little of coastal Europe
Beautiful views and breezes from a stunning position high on the Point but so close to the beaches and restaurants of Coolum which we walked to quite comfortably.
Well appointed villas with everything you could possibly need or wish for.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and were happy to assist with all enquiries.
We have been to The Point twice now and will be returning soon for a long weekend with our family. Can't wait...

Room Tip: All apartments and villas have ocean views
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePointCoolum1, Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thankyou for your review. We always love having you to stay. Don't forget that you may be eligible for a 10% repeat guest discount and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews