We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After the sudden check in, the next day only I went through the previous reviews, the situation now is not that much worst! I can say the condition is bit improved.
Keys in the doors, milk in the fridge that's what you hear from an old woman - the all in all reception/ room service/ etc..etc.. When you get in to the motel. Still I say ok for what you pay

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Dush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I agree with the previous reviews, but I wish I had read them before coming.
The reception area is disgusting and smelly, that should have put us off. The room was cramped, made worse by the bed being placed back to front with the high end getting in the way of an already small room.
The kitchen was poorly equipped and the dishes in the cupboard dirty. The carpets were also dirty.

The bed linen seemed clean, but "snail droppings" and old mouse traps in the room were off putting.

Thankfully we only stayed one night, we would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On arrival at this motel, the toilet would not flush and the television did not work. The Manager came with a plunger in hand, after plunging toilet placed it on the filthy carpet and proceeded to try to fix the extremely dusty television. We were moved to another room which had a filthy carpet and not sure that it had been cleaned (things in bathroom bin)? We were booked in for two nights and could not bare to stay another. We had to pay $188.00 because we did not even want to attempt to get a refund. We have stayed at many country motels and although they may be outdated, they have been clean!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on the 4th April 2012 on our way home from a lomng holiday to Adelaide and the Great Ocean Road. It was getting very late, we were extremely tired and desperate for a motel. From the accommodation directory we had it sounded nice as it "was in a 3 acre rural setting" and my friend is an avid bird watcher. Unfortunately we couldnt do any research beforehand and only booked it over the phone 30 mins before we arrived and asked for a self contained unit for $94, and because we were so tired we then broke our only rule that we check the room before we stay. The reception was extremely untidy with papers and boxes everywhere. We were given the key to room 12 and outside of it was a very grubby white table and chairs. From the front door we went into the kitchen/dining area which contained 2 bunk beds and a veryold table and chairs, Another room had the double bed and everything in there was very old and mismatched. There was a desk on one wall made out of an old piece of wood covered with kitchen flooring material and held down with upholstery tacks which were all loose, and consequently we both pricked our fingers. The bathroom was very outdated and grubby. There was a holder on the wall with four bars of soap for guest use. These were all unwrapped and we found the sink was coming away from the wall. The kitchen had everything we thought we would need, fridge, microwave, toaster, pots & pans and a 2 burner compact cooker. The only saucepan in the kitchen cupboard was pitted with "black" stuff and the top of the cooker was very black and rusty. Our dinner that night was beans on toast done in the microwave with our own bowl. Thankfully i can say that the bedding was clean. Desperate to do some laundry, we found the guest laundry hidden by pushing through trees, alongside an old car that looked as if it had been dumped, and mounds of old hanging baskets and bags of compost. The small room had one washer and one drier for guests. In one corner was shelving which looked as if it was clean sheets for guests but among it was an old t.v, christmas decorations and workmens tools. When we went back to take our stuff out of the drier it wouldnt stop when the door was opened and we had to turn it off at the power source.. The location was extremely noisy as unbeknown to us a railway line was behind the motel and used by freight trains all night long. In the morning we looked out onto a central grass area that was littered with a pile of broken & torn car seats, wheelbarrows full of garden rubbish and a huge assortment of other stuff. As pets are welcome our eyes immediately focused on a large shed which stated "if your dogs do, this is the loo".Surely this could have been sited more discretely. It stated a bbq was available. One of them we found was covered with old buckets, tins and rubbish.. As we left and packed our car we found that chickens were running loose around the rooms.. Needless to say that however desperate we were, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to view the room beforehand as the picture in the www.arrahotels.com accommodation di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oldagedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Cho-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maybe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangaratta
3.7 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
81 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
3.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
88 reviews
18.7 mi away
The George Kerferd
The George Kerferd
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
400 reviews
2.8 mi away
Millers Cottage Motel
Millers Cottage Motel
#9 of 10 in Wangaratta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangaratta North Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangaratta North Family Motel

Address: 372 Bowser Road, Wangaratta, Victoria 3678, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range: $71 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wangaratta North Family Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wangaratta North Family Motel is located on 3 acres just 5kms north of the Wangaratta CBD and 1.5km from the Hume Freeway. Offering older style motel and self-contained rooms and modern cedar cabins in a rural setting. Positioned on the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. Conveniently located with easy, direct highway access to Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Beechworth, Winton, Rutherglen, Glenrowan, Myrtleford, Bright and a host of other fantastic North East towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wangaratta North Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing