We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such genuinely good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such genuinely good service”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Following me around returning all the things I'd left behind was just one of the charming aspects of the service we enjoyed at this hotel. We stayed in the refurbished rooms which were large, ours was quite hot due to its north west aspect and we were unable to use the balcony because of the 30 plus temps.
Many thanks.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    96
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
93
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in their king rooms and must say well worth the extra money,spacious,clean big tv and own little balcony.Dined in Restaurant and was very good.Great spot as staging point for rail trails.Hope to be back in March for another break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snowie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here from a Sunday through to Thursday of the same week for work with several other colleagues.

The thing I noticed the most was how quiet it was throughout the day. This could have been due to it being mid-January and a bit of a lull in activity with holiday makers heading home and business travellers not quite in their groove for the year just yet.

The service was fantastic as being a shift worker, I was left alone and not disturbed but they still had my room made up as requested on one of the days when I was out for the afternoon.

The pool looks lovely and there is an attached outdoor covered area. On our last evening we were able to sit under it with the ceiling fans providing a nice breeze (we had very hot weather) and enjoy a few drinks.

Coles/Kmart is right across the road and the place is surrounded by all the usual major commercial takeaway food outlets. The middle of town with all the local pubs is a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TH_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped in Wangaratta on the way from VIC to Sydney and to be honest I did not have great expectations for a country hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, motel feel on the outside but well appointed, modern rooms worthy of some city hotels on the inside. Small bathroom but good sized room, comfortable bed, mini bar, air con and in house movies. Breakfast was ok with a continental buffet and cooked to order hot breakfast at a reasonable price. Front desk and restaurant service was helpful, pleasant and efficient.

Some small negatives - in-house movies are at set times are only two at a time to choose from, a little bit of mould in the bathroom tile grouting. Some road noise but hardly noticable with the door closed. Also, with an 18 month old we were a bit worried about the railings around the walkway outside the room as they would be easy for a child to climb or slip under. We would go for a ground floor room next time or a room inside the main building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms here are fine. Very clean and comfortable, although the air con units are pretty old school, the balconies completely superfluous, and the traffic noise was disturbing. I thought this would be a good 'business' hotel, but it was overrun with children, the gym was inaccessible, and housekeeping decided to open my door (which opened onto the pool area) while I was in the bathroom at 9:30am, despite checkout time being 10am. Really unprofessional all around. Would not come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughty_quail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I do a fair bit of work in country regions but haven't been into Wangaratta for quite a few years. anyway, I had a 9.00 am appointment on the Monday morning so thought I would drive up on the Sunday night and take the stress out of an early start.

I have stayed at some pretty ordinary country pubs over the years but Quality Hotel is NOT one of them. I enjoyed my stay here. It's easy to find on the main street and has good parking underneath. Check in was friendly and quick and it took only minutes for me to get into my room.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. It is an oldish building with the feel of a motel behind the facade and the room was a little bit dated. Same with the bathroom. It was small, oldish with older fittings and fixtures but everything was clean and functional. The room was also quiet and the airconditioning worked well.

OK, now to the "surprising" bit. I got in late and had noted that the hotel restaurant was rated number 1 in the town, so down I went. The service was excellent - engaging and pretty professional (even down to being constantly called "mate" by the guy behind the bar), with recommendations being made from a menu that had a really good range of options from which to choose. I went with a feta and walnut pumpkin tart and then lamb cutlets. Both were cooked to perfection, they arrived hot and they tasted fantastic! OK wine list from which to choose too.

I was joined by a colleague for breakfast the next day. Again, great service and well cooked hot food from the menu. This was followed by a friendly and efficient check out. What more can a traveller ask for?

Highly recommend this hotel if you're going to be in Wangaratta.

Room Tip: try the restaurant - it's good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are a Winton regular, think about staying in Wangaratta rather than Benalla. The accommodation options are much more plentiful, which mean competition results in the places like the Gateway existing.

Plenty of parking (although not if you have a trailer), decent rooms all round, and the price is really not much more than you'd pay for 3 star (although really 2 star) motel in Benalla.

The Gateway is 10min walk from Wangaratta city centre, and 20mins by car from Winton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section. These rooms are much better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTony_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangaratta
0.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway

Property: Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Address: 29-37 Ryley St, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway is a place our guests describe as 'their home away from home, where the experience is exceptional, the staff deliver above and beyond and the stay memorable'. Located in Victoria's High Country our AAA rated 4.5 star hotel offers 77 suites and apartments, Atrium restaurant - crowned the 2014 TAA Regional Hotel Restaurant of the Year, state of the art conference and event facilities, heated pool, spa, sauna and gym. Stay, dine, meet, celebrate and explore this very special part of Victoria. We look forward to welcoming you to our award winning hotel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wangaratta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing