We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wangaratta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Pleasant Homestead
Ranked #1 of 6 Wangaratta B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ambience and place to stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was a wonderful two night stay - breakfast was yummy and the place was great. The decor was beautiful - attention to detail in every aspect with nice finishing touches like port and chocolates for the evening. The spa was a great way to end our day of touring around Victoria. Thank you Ruth for your suggestions on places to visit - we tried some great wines and had some great food. it made for a lovely three year anniversary

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRenz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our one night stay at Mount Pleasant Homestead was very peaceful and relaxed. The house was very welcoming and had all the mod cons. Breakfast provisions were excellent and plentiful, from muesli mix to fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread, salmon, bacon, eggs, orange juice, milk, butter, mushrooms, tomato, tea and coffee. We had the house to ourselves and we re able to choose which bedroom to use - a difficult choice with either en-suite or spa bath.no need to bring bathrobe or slippers, just bring your toothbrush!

There are two bikes outside so go for a ride, we did!

Ruth and Noel have done a great job renovating the place, mixing new with old.

The promptly is close to Wangaratta where there are lots of eateries. We chose Renaldos Casa Cucina and were very happy with the meal and service. There is plenty to do and see in the areA so put aside a minimum of two nights to have a great experience in the High Country.

We certainly recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the outside it appeared we were staying in the average "farm house b&b". Very neat, with lovely shade trees in the yard that were a pleasure to sit under.
Ruth met us and was most charming and friendly as she showed us how to enjoy the facilities.
Going inside we were delighted with the careful selection of quality furnishing and fittings that makes Mt Pleasant stand out, from quality water on tap,( not so common on farm stay properties), to a well stocked and appointed kitchen, quality sound in the lounge room and an excellent bed. A wonderful b and b. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a most relaxing stay at this B and B. Close to main city and good restaurants. Back bedroom bed was squeaky and there was some constant hum of freeway noise. Friendly welcome. All necessities provided. Very pleasant accomodation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kyamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed two nights at Mount Pleasant and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Ruth is an ideal host: relaxed and fun to chat to. The house had everything we could want including ample provisions in the fridge for breakfast. That was very welcome. The showers were wonderful with tons of hot (really hot) water.
At night it is quiet and dark and miles from anywhere. The stars were the best I'd seen in a long while. The homestead is about 15 minutes from the Milawa Gourmet Region with its restaurants, wineries and bakery. We didn't run out of things to see in the two days.
Really enjoyed the stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Read all the other reviews as everything they said was true. A beautiful getaway and perfect hostess in Ruth. I enjoyed waking up to birdsong and seeing beautiful birds foraging in the garden truly peaceful. Was looking forward to having the fireplace lit however the weather was to perfect. Will have to stay again in the winter months. Oh and look in the electricity meter box and see the resident frogs so cute.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katdav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was looking for a farm stay with a little luxury. From start to finish my stay exceeded all of my expectations. This B&B was luxurious and spotless with nice little touches everywhere. I loved the seclusion and the feeling of peacefulness. Ruth, the owner went above and beyond to give me all of the local information I needed to plan my stay from Sydney. She stocked the fridge with lovely local fresh food and wine. My husband and I felt truly spoilt!
S. Khader
Glenwood NSW

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skhader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
4.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
80 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Palm Haven Bed and Breakfast
Palm Haven Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Wangaratta
1 reviews
4.3 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Homestead

Property: Mount Pleasant Homestead
Address: 181 Wightons Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3678, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Pleasant Homestead is a luxury boutique accommodation offering guests a self-contained "home away from home" in a secluded rural setting. Ideally located near many wineries in Milawa and King Valley region, this boutique homestead offers elegantly furnished suites, each with their own bathroom/ensuite.The full kitchen/dining room has an oven, ceramic hotplates, dishwasher and espresso coffee machine.The colourful separate lounge has an LCD TV, Austar, DVD with surround sound and ipod connection.The fully ducted RC/AC home has a wood fire and mood lighting for added ambience for the enjoyment of our guests.Set amongst established gardens with a verandah and paved outdoor barbeque area, this "hidden gem" is nestled in the heart of the gourmet region and the King Valley.A trip to Bright or Beechworth is just a leisurely drive up the Ovens Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing