We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Physically aggressive manager spoils a pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermitage Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Physically aggressive manager spoils a pleasant experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room was nice and the female manager was lovely.

However the experience was completely spoiled when I went to finalise the bill with the male manager and got into a legitimate disagreement about the total.

During the verbal exchange the manager quickly became aggressive and motioned to physically strike me from behind the counter as well as being verbally aggressive, completely dismissive of my side of the story. He then quickly charged my credit card with the incorrect total without my consent as he already had my credit card details, I was not present at the time as my partner and I left the reception area to allow the hot head manager to cool down.

Needless to say I will not be back here and will be encouraging others to choose from the many other establishments within close proximity to this place.

Some people should choose their vocation more wisely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennsmith37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageG, Manager at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I cant understand you can be like that and right something like this you start first yelling on me and throwing papers around when you come to settle your account after you told me to spa room previous owner quote you $ 100.00 per night and i present to you papers with clearly quote is
$ 150.00 per night and also you tray after to not paid the cook breakfast how you told to you not order Sunday breakfast after i present to you tax invoice writhing buy your hand where you put 2 people and sat and sun breakfast , and you tell me how you not wont to paid the bill and left motel.
i waiting one hours after to you come beck to paid your bill ,you not do that , i charge you buy credit card witch you provide on your booking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
35
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a good value option. Place was clean and tidy and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and helpful with advise and assistance when needed. Not so close to the town centre but near lots of other accommodation. No restaurant on site but near to lots of other motels with restaurants and offer breakfast in room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed our unexpected stay when driving from Bendigo to Sydney, and decided to stay as it was getting late. We passed by quite a few other motels on the main road but were very glad we turned to corner to stay at this lovely quiet motel. Although we were 'walk ins' we were greeted and shown a room for our consideration. They were quite busy and there werent many rooms left but we were happy with our roomy interior, clean bathroom, everything we needed, really and parking right outside the door. The supermarket and shopping centre was nearby and we were able to get a few things we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiamabnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We picked this motel as it was on a quite side street away from the main drag. Reception was efficient and friendly. The room itself was basic, but clean, though the decor is dated with eighties furniture and the air conditioner was clearly from the eighties too...It still worked! The bathroom was quite spacious and clean with toiletries provided. The bed was not the most comfortable I've slept on, but adequate. Free wifi was provided but only for one device at a time. My husband and I had to take turns! Overall, fine for an overnight or short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCQ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,306 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Motel is located in reasonably quiet suburban street. Away from main road traffic noise but close to town. Room was a good size, plenty of space and wardrobe had loads of hangars for cloths. Everything was clean with good quality linen and towels. Bed was firm but comfortable. good bathroom, large bench space and plenty of hot water with shower.Adequate off street parking for guests. There were no sounds from other rooms and the aircon for heating and cooling is quiet. All you need for an overnight stay. Location provides easy walk or short drive to shops and restaurants. Also have arrangement with 2 restaurants for order in delivery service. Breakfast is extra and delivered to room. Only complaint was poor hotel wifi but had good 3G reception. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although not flash by any standards the Hermitage has lots to recommend for a night or two. It's beds are very comfortable and the king single the perfect bed for teenagers. This motel is neat and tidy without frills. Plenty of hot water and good wifi,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorooduc, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and quite motel. Walking distance to everything the town has to offer. Easy parking, the staff were extremely accommodating. The motel offers large rooms with table and chairs very very comfortable bedding with crisp clean sheets! Much better value that some of the other surrounding motels which I have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77Hughy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.1 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#3 of 10 in Wangaratta
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryley Motor Inn
Ryley Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Wangaratta
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motor Inn

Property: Hermitage Motor Inn
Address: Cnr. Mackay & Cusack Streets | entrance Mackay Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Motor Inn, Wangaratta.* Well appointed accommodation.* Central, Quiet, "off the main street" location.* Cleaniness that our many repeat guests rave about!* Most importantly, AFFORDABLE. What else could you want for, we are the perfect location when travelling the North East of Victoria. The Hermitage is located in the beautiful historic prescient of Wangaratta, central to the Milawa, King Valley and Rutherglen wine and Gourmet regions and just over an hours drive from the Alpine Regions. While in Wangaratta stroll to the many restaurants and cafes, or take in a performance at the renown Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre located just minutes away. We pride ourselves in offering quiet, modern well appointed accommodation. Select from our range of accommodation styles: Executive Queen, Twin, Triple, and 2 bedroom Family rooms, we also offer two spa suites for that extra special occasion. All our accommodations feature comfy Queen bedding, Dining & well lit Desk area, Sofa, 32” LCD Televisions, individually controlled Split system to supply your Heating and Cooling and many other little features to make your stay a pleasure. For your convenience Wireless Internet is available in each room. When exploring the fantastic North East region of Victoria come stay in Wangaratta and experience our friendliness and superior level of service. We hope to see you soon…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing