We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the Hermitage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermitage Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Motel on two nights before and after a weekend trip to Melbourne. The main reason we chose to stay there was its close vicinity to the railway station so we could walk there to catch the train to Melbourne. Our upstairs room on both occasions was spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. The linen and towells were good quality. I was particularly impressed with the very long vanity bench space; plenty of room for toiletries. The location was excellent; walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course the railway station but very quiet as it is off the main highway. The owners were friendly and helpful and the roses were blooming beautifully too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Found this gem when looking aound near the shops for somewhere to stay, just off the main road. Was a perfect quiet location. After spending 9 hours on my motorbike was warmly greeted and impressed by the motels colonial facade. Was pleasantly surprised by the price as well. Room was large, spotless and comfortable. Would definatley go straight to this motel when next in Wangaratta.

Room Tip: Downstairs room was good for unpacking motorcycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The motel is located in a quiet area of town and has been fitted out to a good standard for its price range. Unfortunately someone has not paid attention in its construction and as a result even low volume TV's and normal conversations can be heard from room to room. This is very poor considering everything else is pretty good. I would definitely not stay here again as at the end of the day, you use a motel for sleeping - and it this one it was very difficult.

Room Tip: one where the two next to you are empty !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hello,
So sorry to hear about your poor nights sleep – this is MOST unusual and we would like to investigate the matter further. Is it possible for you to contact us and let us know what night you stayed and what room you were in? Your response will be appreciated, looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards ... Jenny & Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This motel is a short walk to the centre of Wangaratta, and so offers easy access to a reasonable range of restaurants, yet is on a quiet side street so there is no traffic noise. The rooms are well appointed and are clean and comfortable. The owners were friendly and offered helpful advice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay with very friendly and helpful service at a great price for this 4 star motel. Everything spotless and in top notch condition...could not find any faults. Room very spacious despite there being a queen bed, large single bed and 2 seater couch. Bathroom large with plenty of bench space.
From the initial enquiry phone call to our departure, Jenny could not have done anything more for us. She even offered to turn the air conditioner on an hour before our arrival on a 40 degree day.
Definitely will recommend this motel to our friends and we will return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAVlasveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you to everyone for taking the time to write reviews. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful service to all guests. We have been receiving some great feedback and it is fantastic to know that all the hard work is paying off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at another motel in Wangaratta (higher rated) but for me this one was far superior. It was very large, modern, spacious and being off the highway, quiet. It was certainly possible to walk into town. The TV was modern, the couch comfy, the bed superb, even the toiletries were great quality. I would definitely return here again, there was nothing negative for me in staying here. It ticked all the boxes for me.

Room Tip: Probably away from the stairs would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Receptionist was nice and friendly, the room was clean, there was lots of towels which is always a bonus the spa was nice , nice area . the only complaint would be the bed is toooo rock hard both hubby and I had restless night !! otherwise nice place . Oh and the clock radio in need of up grade .. not working no station ..... no music !!!!! and no alarm . Lovely room will be coming back again

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor had the spa room lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank nana45melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermitageG, Owner at Hermitage Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for all your positive comments and we have noted your concerns regarding the clock radio - definitely on our replacement schedule!

As for the bed comfort, this is such a personal choice and it is impossible to meet every guests requirements. Since purchasing the beds, in June, yours is the first negative feedback that we have received. Many of our long standing guests have commented on the new beds and their great nights sleep ... we are sorry that yours was not so good.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards ... Jenny & Graeme Bannam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.1 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Advance Motel
Advance Motel
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryley Motor Inn
Ryley Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Wangaratta
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Motor Inn

Address: Cnr. Mackay & Cusack Streets | entrance Mackay Street, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Motor Inn, Wangaratta.* Well appointed accommodation.* Central, Quiet, "off the main street" location.* Cleaniness that our many repeat guests rave about!* Most importantly, AFFORDABLE. What else could you want for, we are the perfect location when travelling the North East of Victoria. The Hermitage is located in the beautiful historic prescient of Wangaratta, central to the Milawa, King Valley and Rutherglen wine and Gourmet regions and just over an hours drive from the Alpine Regions. While in Wangaratta stroll to the many restaurants and cafes, or take in a performance at the renown Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre located just minutes away. We pride ourselves in offering quiet, modern well appointed accommodation. Select from our range of accommodation styles: Executive Queen, Twin, Triple, and 2 bedroom Family rooms, we also offer two spa suites for that extra special occasion. All our accommodations feature comfy Queen bedding, Dining & well lit Desk area, Sofa, 32” LCD Televisions, individually controlled Split system to supply your Heating and Cooling and many other little features to make your stay a pleasure. For your convenience Wireless Internet is available in each room. When exploring the fantastic North East region of Victoria come stay in Wangaratta and experience our friendliness and superior level of service. We hope to see you soon…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing