We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit outdated and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millers Cottage Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Millers Cottage Motel for a few nights over the Easter weekend. Our experience was that it was basic and ok but we wouldn't choose to stay here again. The room is fairly small but not a bad size and has a kettle, microwave and fridge which are useful additions. The room was pretty drab though and looked like it hadn't been decorated in a long time. The bathroom was very small and although probably clean it looked dirty because of the mould and general "oldness". There was a table but with only one chair wasn't great for a couple! The bed massager was amusing and was mixed in with more modern touches such as a flatscreen TV and ipod dock. The bed sadly was uncomfortable and the pillows in particular were solid and lumpy. The walls are very thin too and we were kept awake by a man next door talking on his phone at about 2am and then later outside our door. I found it quite noisy. We were at the back but there were cars pulling up and leaving at all hours and the parking is right outside your door. The positives were the location - it was an easy walk into the centre, friendly owner and the shower which was nice and hot. I have tried to put my thoughts into context with what I'd expect from a budget motel. However, I do expect to be comfortable and for the room to look clean and presentable. I think it does need an upgrade. I have stayed in other motels which were cheaper with a bigger bedroom and bathroom and with a more modern clean look about it and so I don't feel I can rate this any higher than 2 stars sadly. If you are looking for a one night stay and you don't mind particularly what it looks like or if the bed is comfy then it's fine, but I would have expected a little more.

Room Tip: I imagine rooms at the front would be the noisiest as it is on a main road.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittlePix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryONeill, Owner at Millers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Millers Cottage. Yes the motel is older but it is definitely clean and tidy having received a 96% for cleanliness on our AAA assessment just completed in March. All our rooms have two chairs in, one at the table and one at the bench so I don't really understand that part of it. Our walls are double brick and it is unfortunate if people talk extremely loudly on their mobile phones these days with little concern for others around them. We have a variety of beds and pillows with at least four pillows in each room. Most people find it convenient to have parking at their door but yes there are car movements at different times of day as guests come and go. Unfortunately room/bathroom size is something we cannot change as we only lease the property and also wish the owner would consider updating and rebuilding, but alas he won't. We do have some larger rooms but from the booking I understand you were in a standard double room. Again I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay we like to think we give value for money, clean affordable rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Millers Cottage Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed for one night - basic, clean and comfortable Accomodation without being anything special - comfortable bed. The room was small, but well equipped .

Located within walking distance of shops etc.

Good value for money.

Free WiFi and friendly owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryONeill, Manager at Millers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were going on to Mount Buffalo so this was a good choice for a cheap one night stay. The rooms are small and it is dated but it is quiet and comfortable, great rest after a long drive. It's also close to the centre so you can pick up dinner easy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryONeill, Manager at Millers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Weht to Wangaratta for a family event and needed a low cost overnighter.

Millers is a Budget Group [Arra] motel in the 2 1/2 star range by my reckoning. BUT for a small set up the rooms nearly have it all - tea/coffee making, fridge, toaster, microwave, mugs and spoons.

But sadly no other crockery and cutlery - hard to spread your toast with the back of a teaspoon on a bench top.

Room also has air-con, heating and electric blankets on the very comfortable double.

UPside - a $1 in the slot bed vibrator, if that's your thing.

Bathroom was clean and had it all.

Room Tip: As it's on the main highway through town, it's best to get a room round the back. No traffic...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryONeill, Manager at Millers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wangaratta hotels
1.0 mi away
Wangaratta Motor Inn
Wangaratta Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Wangaratta
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Warby Lodge Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
2.8 mi away
Wangaratta North Family Motel
Wangaratta North Family Motel
#4 of 10 in Wangaratta
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Wangaratta
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers Cottage Motel

Address: 26 Parfitt Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Wangaratta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wangaratta
Price Range: $68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millers Cottage Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable older style motel rated 3 stars.We have flat screen LED tv's with USB and HDMI connection points, 8 Foxtel Channels, IPod docks, Air conditioning, Heating, Tea and coffee facilities, Toaster and a Microwave. We have a pool - summer only, BBQ and a small play area in a lovely natural garden area. Close to the town centre, restaurants, Cinema, Supa Bowl, Murray to Mountain cycle trail, shops and hotels. Visit beautiful Northeast Victoria and use Millers Cottage as your base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Millers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing