We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fork and Tap”
Review of The Fork and Tap

The Fork and Tap
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
NewZealand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fork and Tap”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great for kids and good old pub atmosphere the playground is fantastic. And the little touches like iceblocks being available and the pool table and foos ball make this a lovely place to spend time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wildguys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    243
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“the fork and tap -- highlight of arrowtown trip!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

after a fairly active trip in new zealand, the boyfriend and i had a lovely quiet day in arrowtown. this place is wonderful! there is only a small stretch of shops and restaurants, with the fork and tap on one end of buckingham street. we had dinner here and the whole experience was fantastic!

first of all, the building is awesome. it is an old stone building which has a historical protection from the town. second, the prices are very reasonable. in general, the meals are $15-25 which is a good $10 less than other restaurants in town. plus, they have the same menu (and the same prices) for both lunch and dinner. third, the servings are immense! they do not skimp on the food here, that's for sure.

i ate the pork belly burger which was truly amazing. probably one of the top two pork sandwiches i have ever eaten in my life -- the pork had been braised in hoisin sauce and was really tender and tasty. the bf ate the special of the night which was a rib eye steak, 250 grams. he ordered it rare and it was perfectly cooked to his specifications. they have a very well stocked bar and we were very pleased with our speights cider.

although the food/prices are great, the real winning point for this restaurant is the ambience. this is where the locals come to relax and catch up with friends. there were very few tourists in the restaurant. i happened to strike up a conversation with 2 locals who live across the street and come every thursday. in a matter of moments, they had outlined an itinerary for my next trip to new zealand, whenever that might be, and gave me their contact info for when i find myself back in this area. it was not a lengthy conversation but really was the highlight of my meal. it was refreshing and heartwarming to find such happy, friendly people.

there are a lot of great restaurants in arrowtown but seriously, don't miss the fork and tap. the boyfriend and i just went through our mental list of restaurants on the north and south islands and we cannot think of any place better in terms of ambience and food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great little country bar with outside seating and safe play area for the children of all ages, Fantastic range of food reasonably priced

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineArrowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there in October so it was not busy at all. We sat outside in the sunshine and had a nice meal, enjoyed it all. There is a great range of boutique beers on tap including Erdinger which is one of my husband's favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great after bike ride brinks”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

i had just been on a huge bike ride to then dying of thirst for a beer or 4 so i went to the tap they had a place for my dog heaps of great seating in the sun outside and great beer and wine collection, great kids play area to look forward to having a meal there soon to!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fork and Tap also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Fork and Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing