We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy meal”

Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the ambience of our fully restored 1876 stone building. Open for lunch and brunch from 11am with dinner being served from 5pm. Our al fresco setting is extremely popular during the summer months or take a step back in time in our beautiful interior for fireside dining. Our food is classic and hearty, focusing on slow cooked New Zealand produce, Aged steaks from the grill, and fresh seasonal produce. An excellent array of Central Otago wines. Feel free to join us for a full dining experience or enjoy some beverages and tapas.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy meal”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I dined at Stables last week. We were in Arrowtown for a long weekend and
liked the look of the restaurant. We had a very enjoyable experience. The meals were tasty and we were pleased with our choice.
We dined in the room at the back of the restaurant. It was a cold and rainy night out and this was the warm part of the premises. Our host was warm and friendly and we would recommend the Stables to friends and visitors to Arrowtown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    134
    34
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy food!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

great service, yummy food, good atmosphere catered for my vegetarian needs and my gluten free auntys dietary requirements the fire was going cool tunes playing ill definitely be going back here

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy and delicious”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely meal vegetarian option delicious England involtini yummy with Devine crime brûlée for dessert

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kode171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant in Arrowtown”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were staying in Arrowtown with a friend from Melbourne and she took us to the Stables. We were a bit disappointed after booking an upstairs table the day before to find we were dining downstairs but that was OK. My husband and I both wanted the eggplant dish only to be told there was only one left so he ordered the blue cod. He wasn't disappointed with his choice and neither was I but a party of 6 arriving after us left after being told they had no more eggplant dishes, as one of their diners was vegetarian. Overall really nice meals and we all raved at the desserts. I ordered a banana cheesecake and it was divine!! We have been before to this restaurant and have never had a disappointing meal yet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“We made a beeline to this place”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Stables is an excellent small but cosy restaurant in Arrowtown. It is our 2nd visit this year and the small menu offers most interesting choices. Size does matter in menus, who wants to read a book before ordering? Our wait person was a lovely girl and we cosied up by the pot belly stove and enjoyed our delicious meal before the movies. A must if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Stables Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing