We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Food In A Very Pleasant Setting”
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The award-wining Saffron Restaurant, located 20 minutes from Queenstown in historic Arrowtown, is known worldwide for its fabulous food and wine. Tourists, foodies and locals all appreciate the zest and passion of this vibrant establishment. Saffron showcases the best seasonal local produce of the South Island. The wine list, featuring the top producers of Central Otago wines, matches the contemporary cuisine and attentive service. Across the historic alleyway from Saffron is The Blue Door bar, the perfect place to start or finish an evening. Further along is Agave, offering a more relaxed dining style with a great mexican cuisine. Suited to all seasons, Saffron has the choice of outside dining in spring, summer and fall, and a blazing indoor fireplace in winter. Open 7 days a week Lunch from 12 noon Dinner from 6pm
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Creative Food In A Very Pleasant Setting”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Saffron is the kind of place that has developed a huge reputation, so much so that you feel a bit nervous about it living up to all the hype.

If this is you, then relax- while I wouldn't say it is up there with the very best restaurants that my wife and I have dined at in our travels, it is certainly a worthy destination for lovers of fine food and wine.

The wine list is quite extensive and very reasonably priced (with many options by the glass). Equally the menue offers a diversity of options: the duck larb salad entre we shared was a stunner as were the main courses of blue cod with vietnamese rolls and beef medley (inlcuding an amazing oak leaf smoked beef cheek).

In terms of service, we were well looked after and given good advice on our wine and food selections.

In short we enjoyed our Saffron experience and can understand why it is rated so highly by so many.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    90
    54
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal in Arrowtown”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went down for Auckland Anniversary Weekend. Everybody said you must go to Arrowtown's Saffron Restaurant. So... we booked for Saturday lunchtime and did not regret it. The waitress (part owner) was excellent, knew her food and wine. A truly momentous occasion and would certainly recommend. Not cheap but well worthwhile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We looked at all the menus in town and it was immediately apparent that Saffron was the only quality restaurant in this beautiful little town. After entering the restaurant we were attended to immediately. The follow up service was very good. All dishes were very good but not perfect with the pork belly surprisingly a touch on the dry side. Deserts were exquisite. Would love to go back and try some other dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BioBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Best dinner.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Arrowtown is only some 15-minutes drive from Queenstown and itself is a great destination to visit with its historic streets, old homes and shops going back to the gold-mining times and period of Chinese workers – who are commemorated in their settlement just at the edge of town. There are a number of good cafes and restaurants but we were fortunate enough to make a booking at ‘Saffron’ – and it was up there with the best meals my wife and I have ever enjoyed – superb dining. The menu choice was varied not not too extensive (which can suggest a failure to offer quality food in some restaurants). Saffron was just right and offered something for everyone’s taste. The scallops as an entrée were superb as with the whitebait, the duck as a main was one of the best duck dishes we have enjoyed, the fish with Vietnamese soft-shelled crab spring rolls superb but the subtle tastes of the crab were a little lost I believe. Service was exemplary – outside of major gourmet restaurants in capital cities we have not had such expert attention. The wine list was good and a local Otago Pinot Gris nicely washed down the food. The dinner ended with a very acceptable cheese plate. Best to book I suspect given the quality and popularity of the restaurant – it is worth returning to Queenstown just to dine again at Saffron.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This restaurant is family run - their service is great but more importantly their food is amazing - a must to eat at if your in Queenstown - only 20mins from Sofitel by car

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing