We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good meal; at a price”
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The award-wining Saffron Restaurant, located 20 minutes from Queenstown in historic Arrowtown, is known worldwide for its fabulous food and wine. Tourists, foodies and locals all appreciate the zest and passion of this vibrant establishment. Saffron showcases the best seasonal local produce of the South Island. The wine list, featuring the top producers of Central Otago wines, matches the contemporary cuisine and attentive service. Across the historic alleyway from Saffron is The Blue Door bar, the perfect place to start or finish an evening. Further along is Agave, offering a more relaxed dining style with a great mexican cuisine. Suited to all seasons, Saffron has the choice of outside dining in spring, summer and fall, and a blazing indoor fireplace in winter. Open 7 days a week Lunch from 12 noon Dinner from 6pm
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A really good meal; at a price”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Saffron is probably the best place in Arrowtown, but that comes at a cost. The food is certainly up to it - try the trio of curries, for example. The atmosphere is welcoming and warm; staff are cheerful and know their stuff. If there's the tiniest gripe it would be that the waiter was just a bit inclined to engage in informal repartee. In other words, he was "bistro", but the place was "restaurant". I'd definitely go again and I'd recommend others too. But the 5th star would await a slightly more restrained house style in keeping with the price. Or go bistro and shave some $$ .. !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    90
    54
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland,NZ
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I walked in I felt I found a gem in Arrowtown. The menu was interesting and totally unexpected as Arrowtown is not a big place. The menu had good choices of NZ European type food plus a few Asian influenced items. Portions are generous and I had one of the best curries in my life there. That is saying a lot because we do travel a lot and have visited numerous South East Asian countries and the Indian subcontinent.
Service was attentive and though we were at one end of the restaurant, at no time did we feel ignored.
We would definitely come back and though we stayed in Queenstown, we have not encountered a similarly interesting restaurant there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply amazing fine dining.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal at Saffron, would highly recommend the steak and blue cod. Great fine dining option and one we will certainly be returning to next time we are in arrow town.

Helpful?
Thank Garth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular at Saffron”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant meal at Saffron, blue cod was amazing as was the steak. Would recommend to anyone visiting arrow town that wants a great meal with nice fine dining atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Garth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whitebait oysters bread and butter pudding I was so excited about the choices and I was not let down. This was the highlight of a long weekend in Queenstown. My husband had the 3 curries the flavours were amazing. Their own curry pastes and you could really tell. Thankyou so much for a fantastic night Pete and Mel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing