We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Italian Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pesto - CLOSED

Pesto
Price range: $0 - $16
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant Italian Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nothing is fancy at Pesto. It has nice solid Italian food. We both had pasta for our mains and enjoyed our meal. The surprise was our entree of "pizza crust." We thought we would get pieces of pizza crust to nibble on before our main courses. Surprise! We got a pizza. It had cheese and tomato sauce. It was very tasty. We got more than we bargained for and were very pleased. We had a very personable waiter, which made our meal more enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    39
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice meal and charming staff. We didn't book but they sent us to the Blue Door bar whilst we waited (not long) for a table. Loved Blue Door and the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crescentcityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Stylish Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the perfect, simple dinner here-- cold beer, crisp wine, excellent pizza. It's right in the heart of Arrowtown so there's a nice vibe-- lots going on and a real feeling of being in the center of the action.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely location, good for pre or post cinema dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely family atmosphere with un-fussy Italian food. Good for pizza, pasta, etc. Service good. Very convenient of you're going to the cinema just above the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sit outside if you can - the outdoor dining area is surrounded by fresh flowers and is the perfect place for people watching.

When we visited it was fairly quiet, and service was fast and friendly. We ordered the special: fish cooked in butter with paprika, tomato and corn. Delicious!

Didn't have room for dessert, but the dessert menu looked pretty good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing