We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chef”
Review of The Millhouse

The Millhouse
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The pressed rabbit starter was superb. Beautiful presentation. Delicate flavours layered to create a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Linnells,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook. Our chef makes regular changes to our menu to reflect local ingredients available seasonally and Central Otago game dishes are part of our signature range. We’ve delighted to hear you enjoyed the pressed rabbit. We will ensure our team receives your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We are privileged enough to travel regularly, eating at some amazing restaurants and have enjoyed a number of extraordinary and memorable meals in The Millhouse restaurant in all months of the year. Our patronage has been for business reasons,family,a convivial night out or indeed a romantic dinner for two.Every time we have not failed to be delighted by the experience.
We find the staff and chefs attention to detail exceptional.The dishes are always made using fresh seasonal local ingredients. I have dietary requirements which are always recalled by the staff prior to our arrival and provision is made within the meal with no fuss.
The ambience is intimate and romantic with interior and exterior dining (overlooking the water)over the summer months,and round a roaring fire in the winter months . The waitstaff are incredibly personable and well informed. Wine list exceptional. Pauls knowlege on wines, the list and matching with courses both local and international is unique.
I highly recommend this restaraunt..the only trepidation being its a great secret - and once the word gets out - it'll be impossible to get a booking!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear jane I,
It’s wonderful to receive such a great review of our restaurant and with it the accolade to our team. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, knowledgeable team and superb food and our recent award from Wine Spectator magazine in the US is testimony to the hard work of the team and chefs to provide a world class menu, matched with world class food.

We will ensure our team receives your review Jane and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed an exquisite 4 course meal exceeding our expectations. Beautiful, amazing food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raenobleadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Raenobleadams,
Thank you for choosing The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook and for taking the time to post your wonderful review, comments and photographs. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Queenstown.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Millhouse restaurant while staying at the Millbrook resort in November 2012. It really was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand.

The setting of the Millhouse with the working waterwheel and rustic stone facade is beautiful.

Once inside, the restaurant is cozy and comfortable. It was a cooler evening when we stayed there and the fireplace was crackling in the corner which added to the ambience.

The service and food were faultless. I don't think I've enjoyed lamb more anywhere. My wife ordered the steak and it was perfect.

We were offered small bites between courses to add to our dining experience. And given we were on honeymoon, our lovely Scottish waitress brought us a medley of desserts for us to try.

Add to that a reasonably priced wine list and you have pretty much the perfect dining experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meganfrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Meganfrith,
Firstly congratulations on your marriage, we hope that you both enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon in beautiful New Zealand.
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your experience at The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook. To hear that it was one of the highlights of your trip fills us with pride and we are very happy to hear your evening was so memorable. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, knowledgeable team and superb food to match and we will be passing your review onto the team at The Millhouse. Our recent award from Wine Spectator magazine in the US is testimony to the hard work of the team and chefs to provide a world class menu, matched with world class food.

Once again, thank you for dining at The Millhouse and hope to see you again if you choose to come back to New Zealand.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are thinking of staying at Millbrook later this year so while in Queenstown we booked for dinner at the last moment.

The place itself is stunning... All the previous reviewers say it all... So it was no surprise that the Millhouse restaurant was equally as stunning.

The wonderful waiters set the mood as soon as we arrived and everything just flowed like clockwork which is what I like. Being vegetarian wasn't a problem for them and the food was simply amazing. Every mouthful was an OMG experience.

I can't recommend The Millhouse highly enough and it has certainly convinced us to return and stay in one of the villas. I know we won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barrye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at The Millhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear barry09,
Many thanks for posting a wonderful review of The Millhouse restaurant at Millbrook.
We are pleased you enjoyed your evening and we are glad to have made it so memorable. As one of the region's best fine dining restaurants, we pride ourselves on our friendly service, knowledgeable team and superb food to match.
Our recent award from Wine Spectator magazine in the US is testimony to the hard work of the team and chefs to provide a world class menu, matched with world class food.

When booking your next visit, we encourage you to visit our website for a the full list of packages which include accommodation, dining options, golf, spa and of course local Queenstown activities… if you need any help choosing which one is best for you, simply call our reservations team who will be able to help.

Once again, we thank you for dining at The Millhouse and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millhouse also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing