We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I hadnt booked here”
Review of New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of the main street in Arrowtown and you enter through the lounge bar which is a comfortable large lounge with a nice fire and comfortable chairs. Bar staff were friendly and helpful and the range of food available was excellent. Problem was I booked a room here for two nights while travelling in the area on business. I chose the cheaper option for the room and wish I hadn't but having said that the basic problems that I experienced should not have been apparent even for the 'cheaper' cost. The deluxe rooms are better I stayed in one of those a few years ago and it was excellent. Anyway the ranch slider door was almost off its tracks and left me wondering about the security of the room when I was out. It was very basic and not very clean. The heating was a single bar electric heater high on the wall and eventually half way through day two the room was just off freezing. The electric blanket didn't work. The fridge kicked in every 20 minutes or so and made a dreadful noise all night. The TV didn't work and the 'free WiFi' is a joke because I was never able to connect to it for more than a few seconds at a time so just as well I have a 3G enabled cell phone. Why advertise something when its not available?

The bed was reasonably comfortable and I guess I managed to sleep OK even though the place was freezing. The bathroom was the worst. It had no heating at all - nothing not even a heated towel radiator. It was absolutely freezing cold and on my last morning when I was going to catch a flight home there was no hot water at all either in the sink or the shower so I had to make do with boiling the kettle several time and getting only a very basic wash. Totally unacceptable.

I finally got dressed and went to the bar to return my key and met a staff member who took the key and when I explained about no hot water he did apologise and offered me the chance to shower in another room which I declined as I was not prepared to strip off again in a cold room and shower after finally getting warm plus I had a flight to catch. I declined and then as an after thought he offered me a coffee which I also declined due to time pressure.

Hotel New Orleans you have a prime location in the most beautiful place - Arrowtown - but you are really taking the Mickey with rooms like this. It is totally inexcusable in 2014 to offer this low level of quality which even at half the price would have been too much. The location and the lounge bar are first rate so please pay attention and do something about these dreadful rooms they are awful and letting your reputation down.

Room Tip: Choose the De-Luxe rooms over the cheaper ones they are better from my experience which was admitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Husband and I stayed in a deluxe room for four nights as a base to explore Arrowtown, Queenstown, Milford Sound, Cromwell and Wanaka. We had a rental car and parked down by the river overnight, where there is a lot of free long-term parking.
Pros: the rooms have their own entrance, so you don't have to go through the pub every time; very clean; based on the Main Street of Arrowtown, so close to food, etc; Sky TV on big screen; lots of pillows and blankets, heater; powerful, hot shower; nice view of trees but expected a better view from "deluxe" description on website.
Cons: wasn't very clear where to check in - just at the bar, it seemed, where staff were not always available; did not realise the fridge was not on until the second morning, so did not trust the milk; the milk was not replaced after it had passed its expiry date; but can understand why the fridge was off - it's a tad noisy; metal stairs next to room created a noise when people ran up and down them late at night, after a few drinks probably; if come in autumn, be prepared to be woken early by street cleaners and blowers cleaning up all the leaves; small bath towels

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DJTAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

staff let me try the different brews before I settled on one I liked - the open fire inside is nice and the big deck area outside is lovely and spacious - I felt fine here on my own! It is really peaceful outside and I can imagine that it is a great place in the winter with the big open fire in the main bar! Good selection of local beers too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Unfortunatly we were in the noisy room, the fridge turned on evey hour, upstairs sliding doors were very loud and you could hear a gas boiler starting up every few hours! Room itself was nice and comfy, there was a hole in the bathroom wall exposing water pipes, the painting on the ceiling wasnt finished, on the good side you had a nice bed, sky tv, fridge, milk, tea and coffee. very central hotel in the heart of arrowtown so a perfect place to base yourself to explore for a few days!!

Room Tip: Try and avoid room 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Arrowtown is delightful and the New Orleans is right in the centre, full of character. It was a pub room so don't expect too much, fairly small and there was a problem with our shower cubicle but quite adequate. Friendly helpful service, good food and being a pub there was a good choice of beer. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinLyndhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and ate the first night in the Hotel restaurant. the roast was good value and tasty. The second night I ate down stairs in the Pizza Bar and drank $5 Guinness Pints with a very affordable pizza Yummy

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a front room with a view. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Codes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hi we stayed 1 night in room 10 and it was average . every hour the fridge starts up in your room and is very loud . as per below in a june comment here the room still hasn't been finished been painted .half done job . theres a hole in the toilet wall hasent been covered up at all . tv has bad reception . then went up for breakfast after a big night on the beers and the big breakfast had beer battered bread didn't say this on the menu and we all no with a hang ova that's the last thing you want . Sort this out its super average . we will never stay here again

Room Tip: never get big breakfast and never eva get room 10 , make sure you have a look at a room before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frank j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
9.5 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#37 of 58 in Queenstown
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Hotel

Address: 27 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: $88 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, new furniture, bedding and decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar featuring local seafood, extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more is open 7 days from 8am. Recently we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town. Book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing