We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old(er) but not out”

Queenstown Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queenstown Bike Tours is located at Dudleys cottage in Arrowtown. We offer half day or full day bike hire with optional transport, or if you would like to visit us in Arrowtown we also rent bikes by the hour.QT Bike Tours provides a range of bikes specifically designed for comfort and sight seeing. All sizes for men, women and children and if the kids are too small to ride we also have tow along bikes allowing you to take the whole family for a days adventure.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old(er) but not out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a brilliant activity. Our group consisted of three old tarts in our sixties/seventies and we initially wondered whether the least fit of us would be able to manage a whole day's cycling, but these guys were brilliant. They offered to come and retrieve any casualty from tiredness, so that the survivors could cycle on. Well...we had a marvellous day. And painless - thanks to extraordinarily high quality bikes. Instead of focusing on pain in our backsides as we normally do with bikes, we were all able to enjoy the wonderful scenery. The track is excellent (you could walk it from Arrowtown to Kawarau Gorge in high heels if so inclined), and it has some interesting hills and pleasantly challenging corners. But the scenery takes your breath away. In the afternoon they dropped us at the bottom end of Lake Hayes and we cycled around yet another picturesque trail, stopped for a lovely culpa at Walnut Cottage and then up the deadly Christine's hill to Millbrook and then Arrowtown. What a day - do it, these lads are great fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Berry J, I read your review with a smile on my face. Love that you enjoyed your day and that we were able to help make it a great one to remember. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "must do" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Four of us hired bikes and rode to the bungey area and back. The scenery was stunning, the terrain challenging (for us oldies in our 60's!) but overall a great experience.

The owner was friendly and helpful and provided us with well maintained and comfortable bikes. His dog Disco was an added attraction!

Don't forget to go next door to Dudley Cottage for lunch. It's the perfect setting to relax in at the end of the cycle and the food is good. We can recommend the ginger crunch and caramel slice! Dash the dog was another added attraction!!

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Jan, thanks for your feedback. Dudleys cottage is a great spot for bikes, gold panning, coffee and as you say ginger crunch! Disco and Dash say hello."WOOF!" thanks QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Myself and three friends hired bikes from Queenstown Bike Tours, we were picked up from our hotel in Queenstown, transported to Arrowtown, kitted up with bikes and helmuts and given directions and advice for our ride to Gibbston Valley. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the bike ride, it was fun and the scenary awesome. Loved the suspension bridges and tunnels too. Our overall experience was fantastic and I would recommend this to all ages, I can't wait to visit again and take my kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Angela, thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your family next time. Great day for the kids, a bit of excercise, outdoors and encourages them to try new things. Thanks QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing scenery and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and I hired two bikes for a half day tour (4 hours). The owner was extremely pleasant to deal wig and provided us with a bike and some excellent cycle paths to choose from. The path we went through comprised of some breathtaking mountain scenery and view and ended with the Gibbston winery, which was certainly a great way to end the day. We got picked up here by the owner, which does cost a little bit but well worth it. After wine biking back didn't seem like a lot of fun!Would highly recommend hiring a bike from them, you will certainly have a wonderful time and get some good exercise in as well!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Steven, thanks heaps for your review, makes us very happy when we see that our cyclist guests are having a great time! Must be doing something right! Hope the temperature in Perth hasnt melted you yet. Come again soon! Ski holiday? Thanks QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a really enjoyable bike ride from Arrowtown finishing at the Gibbston Winery where we and the bikes where collected by van. The bikes are really comfortable and the cycling relatively easy. The scenery is wonderful and varied and it is great fun watching the bungy jumping en route. Highly recommended. Thanks Matt.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JillDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Jill, thanks very much for your review, our wine tour is proving to be very popular indeed! i hope you have had a great holiday while in our part of the world. Thanks again Queenstown Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenstown Bike Tours also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Queenstown Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing