We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrading needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Upgrading needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Clean and a comfortable bed but old fashioned. Bedside lamps would be a very good idea. Also, there was only a small table and one chair outside-it was very hot when we visited so had to take a second chair from another empty unit. These chalets are supposed to sleep 6!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mature-traveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorty27, Manager at Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am happy you thought the unit clean and found the bed comfortable, however, If there were no lamps beside the beds its because they are attached to the wall above it.
Loungers, chairs and tables are spread round the swimming pool, and also several picnic tables in the back yard for guest use.
The single chair outside the unit is really there as a courtesy to smokers who are not allowed to smoke inside.
The one bedroom unit is suitable for 3 people and the two bedroom unit sleeps 6 comfortably.
I hope you will come to stay another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were struggling to get somewhere and Biking Lodge could fit us ink for 1 night. Reasonably priced, self contained property. Very comfortable and clean. A little dated but not a problem. Full kitchen and also had a washing machine in the property. Had everything you needed and the owners of the Lodge were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is a gem, it's not the usual type of place we would choose to stay at, preferring something a bit more upmarket but we had a few nights here as part of a cycling holiday and were really impressed with the accommodation. The units were spotlessly clean and very well appointed. In fact it's made us re-think future travel plans and if we can find similar quality at such a good price we would consider this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at this motel. It was nice to have a unit that was completely separate to the other units so no noises carried from other units. It was well set up with all the kitchen equipment we needed and also a washing machine so we didn't have to go and find the laundry. The decor is tired and could do with a good refresh.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ace3kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very clean and warm, a lovely peaceful place to stay, away from noisy Queenstown, but close enough to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clyde-camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor SA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This motel provided for us ample living space, a warm environment including efficient under floor heating and comfortable bedding and bed. It also had a functional recently renovated kitchen and was central to walking trails and attractions. It was clean and quiet and hence all our basic needs were well met. Our rating 3.5 - but with potential for higher.

However, there were disappointing features. Maintenance, safety and presentation was extremely poor, with external timber work and gardens needing urgent attention – especially around the pool area.

In a world where first impressions are important, the owner needs to support management by making some immediate improvements. For example, steps leading to the main office need attention. They would fail any Occupational Health and Safety tests – eg no guard rail, no landing area and all steps greater than 150 mm in height.

The pokey office didn’t fill us with confidence either. If we hadn’t pre-booked, we would have been tempted to drive on.

For all that, we found the management welcoming and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay. While the basic service and accommodation elements are in place, we encourage the owner to took closely at the presentation and maintenance of facilities.

Room Tip: Travel late April to fully appreciate the autumn colours against a snow capped background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The chalet-style accommodation is everything needed for a short or long stay. If looking for modern accommodation then this is not for you. But if looking for very comfortable and very clean accommodation with self-catering capacity, including your own quality washing maching, then this is for you. It has real character. (Iron and ironing board is available in room available to all customers. And dryers are also available for a cost.)
Would I come back here? Absolutely - two nights went too fast!
Wonderful area for walking and sight-seeing. Close enought to Queenstown and Coronet Peak but in a small town environment. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstrav255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.4 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.8 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel

Property: Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel
Address: 21 Inverness Crescent | Otago, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel,situated on the sunny side of Arrowtown with its spacious family friendly one and two bedroom chalets,all with fully equipped kitchens,Sky Guest select and own washing machine. The large grassy section, with swimming pool,trampoline and guest BBQ's is perfect for those travel weary folk to just relax and enjoy. Restaurants,Cafe bars and Retail outlets along with the many cycle or walking trails provide something for everyone,while Queenstown and surrounding Ski fields are just a short drive for those looking for more excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arrowtown Viking Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing