We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy & smelly”
Review of Poplar Lodge

Poplar Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrowtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplar Lodge
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in on of the studios and had to keep the bathrom window closed as there was an awful odour coming in from outside think there may have been a septic tank nearby. Also we could hear everything from the studio next door the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologise that you had keep your bathroom window closed - there is no septic tank either on our property or the neighbouring properties. We encourage guests to contact us immediately if there is a problem with their accommodation - we are available 24 hours a day to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was a great find. The rooms are clean, bathroom was incredibly clean for shared usage, and the owner was really friendly. We found this to be a great escape after spending a night in Queenstown. Would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for your comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This normal sized house with cottage out front is in a fab location a few steps from the wonderful Arrowtown centre, but having been converted into a backpackers for 20 people it doesn't work. Simply not enough room in kitchen or lounge to cater for this number. For me no homely feel, and in need of a total refurbishment and downsizing in the number of guests to a level suitable for the facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HauntedHospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoplarL, Owner at Poplar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that your stay at Poplar Lodge did not match your expectations. The maximum number of guests accommodated in the lodge is 16. Our facilities were obviously busy when you used them and we apologise for that. We welcome constructive critcism and are striving to improve wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We loved the beautiful green outlook and access to walking tracks. The kitchen was a bit disorganised but the general living area was comfortable. The room was clean and comfortable. Pity about the group of motorbikers who didn't really have a backpacker mentality - in late and noisy! Also, once the hundreds of tourists left the village, it was charming to roam and visit the charming boutique movie theatre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staying here is more like staying at a friends house than being in a hostel. A friendly manager and excellent rooms and sitting room make this the best hostel I stayed in during my time in New Zealand. Ideal for those enjoying the outdoors in the area. Would not be suitable for those seeking the more lively nightlife of nearby Queenstown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Decided to stay out in Arrowtown rather than Queenstown to avoid the crowds and be near the great hiking trails. Had a wonderful time around Arrowtown and we were very lucky in the lodge - staying out in one of the self catering apartments which was excellent value and very well equipped as well as being spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great location! Amazing treks just a few minutes away. Friendly staff! Clean & affordable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Arrowtown Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Arrowtown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Lodge

Address: 4 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range: $29 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplar Lodge is now a holiday home, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in historic Arrowtown. With 7 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms there is space for everyone! Central heating,electric blankets, large garden, BBQ. A minute walk from the town, the river and tracks to the hills. Poplar Lodge is the ideal base for summer or winter activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing