We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place to stay - heaven on earth”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Three days at heavenly Millbrook (close to Arrowtown and Queenstown) - it's all you need to completely relax. We stayed in one of the little miner's cottages in the Village, pretty decor, our own fireplace, in extremely comfort. On all three mornings in our warm cottage we woke to views of white frost over the golf course and the trees still bore their dramatic leaf colours. We played golf on that impeccable course, rode bikes around the Lake Hayes trail, explored neighbouring Arrowtown and drove to Cardrona...wonderful. Staff were friendly but not pushy; breakfast at the ClubHouse was a treat and the Hole in One bar kept surprising us with their wonderful coffee and light meals. We've tried hard, but simply can't think of one single negative about Millbrook.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is our 4th visit to Millbrook and once again we had an outstanding time. We have stayed in the Fox's Rush cottages before which are nice but decided on a 2 bedroom hotel villa this time. these are very nice 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms and large living room with separate dining table. the 2 rooms are at opposite ends of the space which is great when you are traveling with your teens!

there is a small but very well equipped kitchen and the bathrooms are large and luxurious with a large bath, shower and 2 basins. there are 2 balconies: one facing out towards the main golf course area and the other looking out towards holes 4-7 with views of lake hayes in the distance (we had villa 244).

we really enjoyed the accommodation. the housekeeping was efficient and they were happy to come back if you were in the room.

the resort is wonderful. the spa is a must and the restaurants were very enjoyable: we ate at sala sala, a favourite of ours, and the millhouse. we had afternoon tea at the hole in one and found the service good and it was quite busy. the cakes and very yummy and they do a range of sandwiches and quiches for a quick meal. we didn't sample the main menu. we had breakfast one morning so the teens could gorge on the buffet and it was ok but happy to bring our own breakfast and have it in the room. we had room service a couple of times and it came quickly and the food was hot and good.

we didn't play golf this time but it's a wonderful course. we did lots of walking including the 3 round trip down and around lake hayes (stopping off at amisfield winery for lunch). would recommend that. otherwise there are new walking and biking paths around the resort. we played some tennis and walked into arrowtown for the cinema which has a wonderful small bookshop and bar. we had dinner at saffron which was lovely and generally enjoyed the gorgeous weather.

it's really a lovely place to stay and the service was really good. the team will run you into arrowtown at a moment's notice and then come and pick you up as well.

we stayed for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. it's a wonderful spot to visit and Millbrook makes it all the more enticing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Love the hotel villas but much preferred the french decor, which suited the architecture much better in my opinion. That was was made it so unique.
The hole in one cafe is severely lacking.
We went twice and both times waited over 1 and 1/2 hours for our meals from our arrival. The first time we had to go and get our own menus. Staff were slow and unapologetic tho' polite.
The restaurant was far from full there was no excuse for the delays.
Meals were average and overpriced, the fish pie $25 and mostly rice . Very dry.
The chicken sandwich thing quite nice but small for the price. Very disappointing as we had taken guests for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NzShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We took a Cottage house with 2 en suite rooms and a kitchen, diner, sitting room. HUGE space, nice setting; but on a golf course, so unless you're wedded to golf it's a bit out of place.

Service sadly was appalling. The resort was probably full, but it was staffed by part timers who did not know much about the services or area, and also by people who really did not want to go out of their way to help. From front desk, to leisure and activities to restaurant staff, with one or two exceptions of the full time staff. They should take note however, to train part-timers better.

Not sure of whatever other options in the area, but the location is great for all Queenstown activities, nearby Arrowtown is charming, the rooms are great, it's a good choice for families. Just a shame the service and care for guests is second rate.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarneyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaKerslake, Marketing at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2010

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. We are disppointed at the bad service you received as we consider our service to be of the highest calibre. We have taken your feedback on board and all staff have been notified. As Queenstown is a transient resort, it is a challenge to keep staff long term, but our retention rate is increasing which is great for us and for our visitors to see familiar faces across the resort when they revisit.
Thanks again for your feedback. Take care, Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Spent 6 nights here in late November in a Superior Villa Suite. The rooms was great - large, spacious, well maintained and with a small but serviceable kitchen. It was great to have a separate lounge area to spend some quiet reading and relaxation time.

The resort facilities were excellent, of very high quality and exceptionally well maintained. As you would expect from a golf-related resort the gardens are immaculate. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enigmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Great place.. amazing surrounds, quiet, romantic, beautiful. One of the best rooms I have ever stayed in, something quite unique.

Quite pricey but worth it for a romantic weekend away.

Loved it.. would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biglobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed with our 3 kids for 5 nights and the Millbrook was such a great choice. Th room was perfectly appointed and comfortable and the staff was so amazing! They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. They drive you to Arrowtown or Queenstown whenever needed also. A BIG thanks to all the staff and especially to Vicky for all the help and kindness! We loved it there and all of New Zealand!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaPalosVerdes_ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
23.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: $198 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star resort encompasses 160 rooms, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at the Hole In One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing