We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millbrook Resort Rocks!”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Millbrook Resort Rocks!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed in one of the 2 BR cottages for 5 nights. We ate at The Millhouse twice; had massages; and golfed. We all agreed that it was fantastic-every part of it. Reception is courteous and willing to help in all matters; the chef, cooks and wait staff at The Millhouse were top-notch. The food was what you would expect in a 5 star restaurant. The golf courses were in perfect condition. Even though the resort is not located in Queenstown, we found the location between Arrowtown and Queenstown good for us, and very easy to navigate with a rental car. We have stayed in other similar resorts, where golf carts are part of the amenities and nice to traverse around the resort, which would have been a nice amenity rather than having to wait for the shuttle. I do agree with the review about the Wi-Fi; this is an upscale resort and not cheap. Free unlimited Wi-Fi should be included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roylaunik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. Great to hear you enjoyed a lot what Millbrook has to offer, from our fabulous Golf course and Spa, to the culinary delights on offer in the Millhouse restaurant. We appreciate your support and positive review. As previously mentioned, we are currently reviewing our internet plans to ensure we are providing the best options for all guests. Thank you also for the kind words regarding our team, they were certainly well received. We hope we can welcome you back to Millbrook in future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
173
487
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We traveled down to Millbrook along with a friend from Tasmania for the NZ Open. We had a fabulous week of golf and fun. Our apartment was perfect in every way, the only thing i could not find though was a steelo pad to clean the oven dish after cooking. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, with the lads in the Pro shop being very helpful. Congratulations on an awesome Resort which is something very special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassmere60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience regarding your time with us during the period of the 2014 New Zealand Golf Open. It was certainly an exciting time at Millbrook and I was very glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed the tournament and also your time on the resort. We are very happy to have signed a contract to co-host the NZ Open the next three years and expect the tournament to continue to grow in size and popularity. Dates for next year have been announced as March 12th through till the 15th. Get in quick and hopefully we'll be seeing you again to enjoy the atmosphere and excitement of the 2015 NZ Open.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights. Very impressed by the golfcourse grounds, very spacious rooms and exceptional service level. Also dined twice in the resort Millhouse restaurant and food as well as service of high level. However most impressed by service level of all staff members from reception over housekeeping and restaurants.
Great breakfast, great Spa. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Karel,

Thank for your sharing your Millbrook experience. I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed our spacious grounds, Restaurants and Spa. But most impressed to hear that it was the service level you received throughout the resort that stood out. We have shared your review with our team, who are very grateful for your positive feedback. We hope we can welcome you back for more of the same in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A wonderful luxurious resort in a picture perfect setting. Look out over the Remarkables a beautiful range of mountains,play a round of golf on one of the greatest golf courses in the world,or call in to the spa. Staff can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyRNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Suzy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. We are grateful for the recommendation to others with regards to the quality of our accommodation, Golf Course(s) and Spa. I do hope we can welcome you back in future to enjoy more of what Millbrook has to offer.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Checking into our room I found the 2 upholstered lounge chairs so dirty and disgusting that we would not sit in them so we used the blankets to cover them. Then I signed onto the "free" internet only to find out that it free only for 30 minutes. I used 9 minutes in the morning then tried to sign on again at night only to find out that one must use all of the 30 minutes at one time. When I complained about not getting the full 30 minutes the answer was free internet in the lobby. So here I am using their computer. They charge $20 for 4 GB which is good only for one
day. After paying a lot of money for a room I hate to be robbed for a few extra dollars. I would rather pay more for the room than be nickeled and dimed. It's a cheap way to operate.
The lobby has free internet, but you have to use their computer. That is if you want to sit in a fake leather chair that is torn with stuffing falling out.
A 5 Star hotel would not have worn and dirty chairs in the rooms or a torn chair in the lobby.
Many places have free internet so asking me to pay $20 for4GB good only for one day I find insulting after what the room cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gedavky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. I was disappointed to read that your room was not cleaned to standard. As one of New Zealand's leading five star resorts, obviously this falls well below our normal high standards. I have shared your review with our team and we are taking steps to ensure our high standards are maintained for future.

With regards to your comments regarding our Internet service, we have recently chosen to invest heavily in fiber optic infrastructure throughout the resort to ensure we are providing a world class high speed service. We have also changed our provider and are currently reviewing our pricing plans, to help improve our service for future. Your comments and suggestions (which I have shared with the management team) regarding this service will be very helpful for our future decisions as to whether this cost is absorbed into the room rate or whether it is kept as an additional charge.

Thank you for bringing to our attention a damaged chair in foyer. This has since been replaced.

We appreciate and value all feedback and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further. Please feel free to contact me directly at martin.hamilton@millbrook.co.nz.

Sincerely,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury NZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Dear Jennifer, we were a Kiwi problem booking, chopping and changing our minds. You were so helpful and patient. Locals are the worst!!
Thank you working out the best deal and the rooms.

We cannot wait to enjoy another stay at Millbrook Resort and our game of golf

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. I was very pleased to hear that Jennifer from our Reservations team was able to ensure you enjoyed a package and room that was best suited to your needs. She is very appreciative of your feedback and I'm sure she will be happy to ensure you are looked after again for your future visits. We look forward to seeing you on the resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from spending two weeks at Millbrook and found it as wonderful as ever, this was our 11th visit. The amenities, food etc all reasonably priced and the new Japanese restaurant is exceptional. The course was in good condition leading up to the New Zealand open. All the staff are helpful and cheerful .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Robyn,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It is always nice to hear from regular guests such as yourselves. Great to read that you again enjoyed everything that Millbrook has to offer, including our new Japanese restaurant, Kobe Cuisine. It was also nice to know that you were able to enjoy the Golf course in tournament condition, just prior to the NZ Open. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing