We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception, brilliant”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Dear Jennifer, we were a Kiwi problem booking, chopping and changing our minds. You were so helpful and patient. Locals are the worst!!
Thank you working out the best deal and the rooms.

We cannot wait to enjoy another stay at Millbrook Resort and our game of golf

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. I was very pleased to hear that Jennifer from our Reservations team was able to ensure you enjoyed a package and room that was best suited to your needs. She is very appreciative of your feedback and I'm sure she will be happy to ensure you are looked after again for your future visits. We look forward to seeing you on the resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have just returned from spending two weeks at Millbrook and found it as wonderful as ever, this was our 11th visit. The amenities, food etc all reasonably priced and the new Japanese restaurant is exceptional. The course was in good condition leading up to the New Zealand open. All the staff are helpful and cheerful .

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Robyn,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It is always nice to hear from regular guests such as yourselves. Great to read that you again enjoyed everything that Millbrook has to offer, including our new Japanese restaurant, Kobe Cuisine. It was also nice to know that you were able to enjoy the Golf course in tournament condition, just prior to the NZ Open. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We choose to stay at Millbrook Resort each year to attend the Gibbston Valley Winery concert. We were upgraded to 5 Malaghans Way again which was a wonderful surprise! This home is extremely comfortable and spacious. Looking out over the fairway watching the golfers & the view of the Remarkables makes you not want to leave. Thank you again Millbrook for this special place in our beautiful country.

Room Tip: All accommodation is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeBee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed an upgrade into one of our beautiful fairway homes. I trust you enjoyed the concert also. Nice to read that Millbrook is a special place for you and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of our unique resort in future.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night recently in a Villa room, from checking in at Reception to when we checked we were treated with such respect and friendliness that it made us feel very relaxed and welcome. The staff at Millbrook Resort went above and beyond to ensure all our needs were catered to. Our room was spacious and tranquil and the food in the Millhouse Restaurant was beautiful. This stay was incorporated in my plan to propose to my partner, staff at the hotel went out of their way to make this a special day for us. Of note Concierge Dale BOWDEN went over and beyond to ensure that everything ran to time, was prepared to fine detail and was kept secret from my partner. Dale was able to organise the use of a golf cart, a picnic hamper with whatever I desired, picnic blankets and went out of his way to locate a special place for a romantic picnic, he also liaised with the helicopter company I had hired to organise the landing at Millbrook and tidied up after we left the picnic area for our flight. With his assistance Dale made this day less stressful for me leaving me with the finer details to organise. Again a special thanks to Dale BOWDEN who also worked beyond the hours of his shift to ensure the event went to plan. I recommend the Millbrook Resort to anybody who wants a luxurious relaxing Hotel where all your needs will be catered to. I'm looking forward to returning to the Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your recent Millbrook experience and congratulations on your recent engagement. I was very pleased to read that Dale (from our concierge team) went above and beyond to ensure your proposal was one to remember and that everything went off without a hitch. Our service goals are to help create personal and memorable Millbrook experiences for all our guests and it appears Dale has certainly succeeded in this case. Nice to know that Millbrook will always be a special place for you and your future wife and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in future.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here in a villa suite for 3 nights with my wife while playing in the final of the BMW Golf cup. The setting is very relaxing and the staff are always very helpful. The rooms are very spacious and clean and we had a great balcony overlooking the 8th tee of The Remarkables course. The buffet breakfast in the clubhouse has a great selection of both hot and cold dishes and they would also cook our eggs to our liking. Overall we had a very relaxing and stress free stay and would not hesitate booking here in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JK_GOLD_COAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. It was great to read that you enjoyed a relaxing and stress free stay with us during the recent BMW tournament. Thank you for your recommendation to others and we are very glad to hear you are looking to return in future. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I were part of a larger group and we were treated like royalty! The resort location is amazing with 365 degree views of gorgeous scenery. We were in one of the villas looking out over the beautiful golf course. The staff is amazing and very helpful without any indication that they'd prefer to be anywhere but there. They seem to enjoy their jobs and working at the resort. I visited the spa and had the best massage that I've ever had!

Room Tip: Every room is assured a wonderful view. We were in the villas near the tennis court facing the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Brenda,

Thank you for sharing your Millbrook experience. Great to hear you enjoyed everything about our little slice of paradise, especially the service provided by our team. The talented team in "The Spa" were especially pleased to hear you rate their massage as the best you have ever had! It was also nice to read that you noticed how much our team enjoy what they do. Hard not to in an environment such as this. We hope we can welcome you in back in the near future to experience more of what Millbrook has to offer.

Best regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent the last four days of our NZ south island vacation at Millbrook. We are a couple that is addicted to golf, and so, after all the sightseeing the two weeks before, golf was our focus. We chose the 'stay and play' package whereby you can play Millbrook, Jacks Point and Queenstown Golf Club. The stay at Millbrook was quite nice overall. We were initially disappointed at the quality of the room, just not upscale enough compared to resorts we have stayed in here in the US, however, I will point out that the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were included in our stay, and the choices were excellent. We also attended the Christmas dinner. The chefs did a phenomenal job and the food was amazing. Golf at Millbrook and Jacks Hill was good, but the Queenstown course was a huge disappointment. It is a patchy public course with bumpy fairways, rock hard greens and major back-ups and is probably equivalent to a $30 course here in the US. We quit after 12 holes, and felt that we wasted half a day. When we did point this out to the GM, he was very courteous and offered to let us play another round at Millbrook. However, it was time to leave and we could not take him up on his offer. Regardless, what mattered was his good host demeanor, and we left with an overall memorable experience. I would like to give a shout out to the excellent customer service from the San Diego couple at the proshop.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valenciacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Hotel Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Millbrook experience. After meeting you in person on the resort, I have discussed your feedback with our Reservations team. With the benefit of hindsight, we feel our Diamond 3 Golf Package (Including Millbrook, Jacks Point & The Hills) would have been more suitable to your needs. Again I was sorry that you were not able to enjoy our offer of a complimentary round at our course in light of your disappointment. Christina and Patrick from our Pro shop team were also very appreciative of your feedback, thank you.

Kind regards,

Martin Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: $204 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing