We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Millbrook was fabulous! We walked into our room to a roaring fire, huge bed, big bath and room service. What more do you need for a romantic break?!
We had a couples massage which was great too.
The only downside was an arrogant therapist but we didnt allow her to spoil our stay.

  • Liked — fireplace!
  • Disliked — The buildings are quite far apart if its raining or too cold
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shellywelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
173
487
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We recently stayed 5 nights at Millbrook, near Arrowtown.
We found our overall experience to be excellent. The accommodation while not 5 star in my opinion was excellent. The included buffet breakfast was sumptuous and plentiful. The evening dinners we experienced in the restaurant were very good although we found the menu a little limited. My wife enjoyed a massage at the spa very much and I found the golf course very much to my liking. Overall we found the staff to be very polite and helpful. A truly relaxing few days at Millbrook.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

we arrived christmas day 2007 and we had the most magnificant stay.
the service was fantastic and the staff were friendly.
All staff were helpfull and made the holiday one to remember( for all the right reasons).
the fireworks from the hotel on New Years Eve were spectacular.
free bus service to arrowtown and queenstown.
My daughter and i loved walking around the grounds of Millbrook. this was our second trip there and we will definatly be back !!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank skm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We arrived at Millbrook and booked a suite. We were told to return in 45 minutes. We had lunch and returned 1.5 hours later only to be mucked around and told we had previously been given the wrong info. and our rooms were not ready. We returned twice only to be fobbed off with no appolgy or satisfactory explanation. We ended up leaving and staying at Arrowfield resort very close by with magnificent accommodation. These people need to lift their game for the prices they charge.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocochanelorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We recently returned from 5 nights at Millbrook Resort just outside of Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island. Having travelled extensively all over the world, I was stunned by the magnificent beauty of this area. The resort itself is nestled between some hills and is one of the most well-maintained and luxurious places we've had the pleasure to stay in. Ours was one of the Village Inn rooms which was spacious, clean, had everything we needed though there were very limited kitchen-type facilities (other than basic tea/coffee and mini bar). Millbrook is about 25 minutes walk to the gorgeous, historic Arrowtown and about 15 minutes drive to Queenstown. A free bus service runs between the resort and both towns.

We will definitely return there in the winter as the grounds are so beautiful with very lovely landscaping. We've seen some photos from winter and it looks even more magical.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was our honeymoon and we were welcomed with a couple of mini bottles of fizz and a card delivered to the room. There are various dining options but we only had time to dine in the Clubhouse (food was slightly disappointing - Caesar salad overly dominated by garlic; steak a little overcooked). Great setting though.

Millbrook rates at the top of our travel destinations from now on and we heartily recommend it.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I stayed at the Millbrook with a tour group and had the worst experiences with both service and competence. Our luggage was "misplaced" and the staff, most of whom come from asia and have heavy accents, weren't able to communicate with us very well. Another major problem was that the layout of the hotel is totally confusing and not well marked at all - half the time we would wander around until we happened upon a staff member who could point us in the right direction. Lastly, our restaurant experiences were terrible - the waitstaff is a bit unhelpful. Nice people, but clueless.

It's more expensive, but if you want to enjoy your time in Queenstown, go to Blanket Bay.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank gmt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

A fantastic place to stay. Contrary to some members opinions, I had an excellent experience and service exceeded my expectations.I am still a teenager but I found the location bearable (a 20minute drive from central Queenstown, far from the action) due to the fantastic facilities and amneties available. I was able to swim, spa, hire a mountain bike to Arrowtown (NZ$20 for 4hours) and golf all in the hotel. There was beautiful scenary from our room of the Remarkables mountain ranges and the golf course. The service was good but a little inconsistent; reception was excellent (let us in before check in time and were always helpful) but not so much the hotel restaurants. I would avoid Sala Sala as their portions leave your wallets sore and we waited 1 hour for entrees despite following the waitress' request we arrive 30mins earlier than our booking time. Two other parties complained about the service that night. Also patchy was Breakfast. Due to an overwhelming number of guests we were told there was another buffet breakfast in the Hole in One bar; but it was very makeshift and was a quarter of the size of the Clubhouse buffet (thankfully it was a one-off but still, it was irratating). Moreover I do not eat wheat, dairy or meat so the choices were limited (did not have glutenfree bread or soymilk). Other than that, breakfast was tasty albeit a little ordinary and unimaginable (standard fare -pancakes, eggs, grilled tomatos, fruit and toast etc..) but could enjoy a great view from the restaurant. We stayed over for New Years and the hotel threw a party in a marquee and let off fireworks for free. Do try to get a room at the Villas if you do not like walking, the Village is quite far from reception/restaurants/health and fitness centre. It would be great for kids and teens as theres lots of places to run around (most inner city hotels are cramped and crowded), rooms are huge, theres heaps to do such as tennis, exercise classes, mountain biking (to arrowtown and down the Millenium track is good), a playground, a swimming pool and free internet access at reception. Also an upside was the ample size of the underfloor heated bathrooms. The hotel will book and recommend lots of activities for you and have a wad of brochures. We told reception what we wanted to do and they were more than happy to organise it all. Don't worry too much about the distance from Queenstown. They provide free trips to town on the hourly Connectabus. They were also happy to organise a return trip to the airport and back : )

  • Liked — Facilities and activities to do, quiet, pristine surroundings
  • Disliked — The distance from central Queenstown; but at least it wasn't too noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatyourpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing