We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf resort for getaway but just 30-mins from Queenstown”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent golf resort for getaway but just 30-mins from Queenstown”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in their villa suite and it's excellent.

Room: very nice 1-br with a beautiful balcony overlooking the whole golf resort and mountain at the backdrop. Superb relaxing. Only problem is the iPod dock is not working (they changed it but still not working, I guess most of their guests are older guests so they don't quite need iPhone dock and good music?). The fireplace didn't work on the 2nd day, the technician promised to fix it but then when we came back it's untouched.

Staff: very very friendly, very attentive and very helpful.

Surrounding: very beautiful, excellent get-away if you're a country-side person.

To sum up, if you've enough time or if you like get away from the hastle and bustle of city life, I would definitely recommend this place before you go to Queenstown. They charge around NZD300 per night and I think it's definitely worth the money. Arrowtown is just 5 minutes away and it's a very beautiful small town.

Room Tip: definitely choose the villa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilesHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear NilesHo,
Thank you for reviewing our resort. We’re delighted that you got to experience Millbrook, Queenstown and Arrowtown while you were here. Our complimentary shuttle service is a real hit for guests as you get the best of both worlds! I do apologies on behalf of the team here that your docking station and fireplace was not fixed as promised. I’ve passed on your feedback to our maintenance team and we will look to ensure that we review our procedures to ensure that any problems mentioned by guests are rectified as soon as possible. We hope to see you back at Millbrook in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
168
477
26
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to spa with best friend for a treat and booked in for a night to enjoy the restaurants. Unforgettable. The attention to detail, the smiling service, the utter luxury of everything they do was amazing.
The Spa, as usual, sublime with the excellent staff. The Millhouse truly amazing food, Breakfast at The Hole in One was a wonderful relaxed affair with great food again. My ultimate luxury week end.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Qualityexpectation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Qualityexpectation,
Thank you for reviewing our resort . We’ll pass on your praise to our teams here as they come to work daily with the plan to ensure all our guests have a world class experience. We are delighted that you put this down as your ultimate luxury weekend and we hope that you get to come back at stay at the resort in the future. We have a variety of different package which might suit you – if you didn't get to play golf last time, maybe on your next visit you review our stay and play packages or take the opportunity to have a lesson with one of our pro golfers and kick start your golfing career.! We hope you’re still feeling relaxed and revitalized after your stay here.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

On arrival I was wowed, as the village is huge. At reception I was greeted in a friendly manner, and my son and I were driven in a golf cart to our room. The look of the place reminded me of desperate housewives, in a good way. Our room upstairs was wonderful, with a massive view of the mounts. I soaked myself in a huge bath, guiness book of records in depth! I saw snow on the top of one of the mounts, as it had snowed the day before, snow was not due for another two weeks. The heater was not used, as we did not find it cold, start of May. The ducks sounded off in the morning, so Matt and I hit the road, feeling relaxed.

Room Tip: Upstairs=better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Angela G,
Thank you for reviewing our resort. Being set on 500 acres with the Remarkable mountain range as the backdrop to the resort it does give you the perfect opportunity to soak up the fresh alpine air and relax from life! We’re delighted that you and your son had a fabulous time here and I’m sure he was intrigued by our ducks. They are very much part of the furniture here at Millbrook and add a great piece of character to the resort. Did you and your son manage to hire our mountain bikes? We have got the Queenstown Trail running through the resort which offers a great family adventure. We hope you can make it back to Millbrook someday so you can experience even more that Millbrook can offer you! Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This international resort is within easy reach of Queenstown airport, but is physically located closer to unspoiled Arrowtown. It consists of clusters of hotel rooms, villas and houses scattered around manicured landscapes and golf courses with exceptional views of the mountains. Your accommodation will differ in type and cost, which seems to be reflected by the variety in the reviews. We were in a beautiful villa in the Butel cluster. The apartment consisted of two smaller units, which could be rented separately. There was a large living/dining room with comfortable furniture and neutral calming decor.The small kitchen was fully equipped and there was access to your own washer/dryer. The two bedrooms were large with king-sized very comfortable beds. The bathrooms were strikingly modern with large wonderful bathtubs. Everything was immaculately clean and our apartment came with relaxing outdoor spaces from which you could hear manmade and natural waterfalls. The views from all windows were beautiful - mountains covered with colorful fall foliage. The resort has a choice of restaurants and a bar that serves light meals. All were atmospheric and the prices are reasonable for an international resort. Other eating choices are in Arrowtown or further afiield in Queenstown. Wineries in the surrounding area also have first rate restaurants and the opportunity for wine testing. This is a wonderful base for exploring the natural wonders of this part of New Zealand.

Room Tip: I loved the Butel Villas as they offered tranquility with spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Adrian G
Thank you for your fabulous review on our resort. Our rooms have been designed by Virginia Fisher to compliment the history of Millbrook being an old wheat farm, so we are delighted that they got the gold star from you. Being set on 500 acres, our resort allows us to ensure that every guest has privacy and a great view from their room. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to Arrowtown and Queenstown, so hopefully you had the opportunity to take up this service. If you come back to Millbrook in the future we do have a package which offers $250 credit toward an activity if booked through our concierge, so please review our website for more details on this. Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

$230 per night...about the price of a forthnight in Greece including flights. Beautiful place, super room, rooms are away from the centre, in 'little villages' set in the grounds. Nice views and you can annoy other guests by hanging your 'smalls' out to dry on the balcony railings. Room had one bath robe, and one chair to sit in. We had dinner in the bar/bistro. Dinner meaning a pizza, and a glass of wine,it was pleasant enough, only four other guests, were we keeping the staff up? 'felt a bit strange. Staff here vey friendly, service good. RECEPTION STAFF won't bowl you over with charm, element of couldn't care less, other staff made up for this. Breakfast next morning was ok...just ok, staff attentive. but quality of product a bit 3*. WHY?

Room Tip: "Hello, this is the Duke of Wellington speaking........etc etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We checked into the Millbrook on our honeymoon and were shown to our first room which was dated with brown, old fashioned headboards, cheap sofa chairs and a painted firewall that reminded me of a badly decorated wedding cake. We asked to change rooms and were happy to pay for an upgrade. The next room we were shown was somewhat better, although if you wanted to watch TV it was behind a painting in the small dinning area and you would have needed to it on hard wooden chairs to do so. Fours hours later we were finally checked into another room but were given no keys by the completely hopeless staff. We stayed one of our three nights that we had booked. Completely disappointing. Millbrook needs to move with the times. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: The website photos are very deceptive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear 19Lydia ,
Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. We are extremely disappointed that your stay at Millbrook was not what you were hoping for. As you can see from our reviews, they do compliment our staff and the resort. The design of all our rooms is in keeping with our French colonial theme, completed by one of New Zealand’s leading designers, Virginia Fisher. Virginia's style is well respected around New Zealand, so whilst this is not to your taste, the design does reflects our French history and county setting and location. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service and check-in procedures. As feedback is an important part of Millbrook’s development we have taken all your feedback on board and further training will be taking place with the teams.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Took advantage of the Summer Break package offered by Millbrook and upgraded to a slightly nice room. Had a ball. The place was warm and friendly, the staff helpful and room was delightful. As Autumn weather was colder our room's heating had been turned on ready for our arrival and the porter took us in the golf wagon to our room from our car as if we were royalty.
This is one place that I would recommend for a brilliant and relaxing stay. We dined at two of the three restaurants and had our breakfast in the Clubhouse. The breakfast - which was part of the deal - was as amazing as the place. There was plenty of everything and it would be a very awkward person indeed who found fault with the room and the breakfast.

Room Tip: The Village Rooms are the basic rooms and further from the main complex. The Villas and Cottages ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear STW2012,
Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. Autumn is well and truly here at Millbrook - the 500 acres of the resort is changing daily and is now looking a very gorgeous golden colour! The Clubhouse is a beautiful place to enjoy breakfast...we get a lot of guests falling in love with the building as it reflects Millbrook’s history with its stone walls and high beam ceilings. We have winter packages and couples packages available also, so if you feel the need for some more TLC, we would love to see you back at Millbrook in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing