We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury escape”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Millbrook with our two boys recently. The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was beautifully furnished and appointed, and was spotlessly clean.

We ate buffet breakfasts at the Clubhouse, where the food was superior to average buffet fare, and had a fantastic teppanyaki dining experience at the Kobe Japanese restaurant.

Our boys enjoyed the hire bikes available, and we only regret that we didn't have a chance to use the swimming pool or golf course. Next time!

Millbrook Resort is definitely an escape from real life while you are there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear TraceyT_11,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook Resort. We are delighted that you and your family had a fabulous time here. Being set on 500 acres, there is lots of room for kids to play. We’re delighted to see you got your boys on the mountain bikes. It’s fun to be on the tracks around Millbrook, really safe and thoroughly enjoyable. We look forward to having you back at Millbrook in the future. There is a lot for you to still experience! Maybe you and your husband can make it back and take up our Stay and Play package next time! Our Stay and Play package combines a stay at Millbrook with green fees and breakfast included, so it might be worth you having a weekend away in the near future!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a big group with families, couples and singles. Everyone enjoyed it and was entertained.

Stunning location surrounded my mountains. Golf courses are all enjoyable (Coronet 9 our favorite). Good mixture of restaurants on site and 5 minutes into Arrowtown which has more options.

Service was ok. Could be a bit slow and had to follow-up a few times on requests. This is however probably just in keeping with the laid back atmosphere in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Currypow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Currypow,
Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. Coronet 9 is the latest edition to the golf course back in 2010 and it’s a very popular course. Being set against the backdrop of the Remarkables mountain range, it really is a delight to play on. Did you manage to take a lesson with one of our golf pros while you were here? If you come back to Millbrook, we’d highly recommended a lesson, our Pro’s can help give you some pointers which might just get you that extra distance most of us are looking for on our tee offs!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really wonderful golf resort. Service was most welcoming from the start. Room was huge, with separate closet and biggest bed, we have ever slept. Nice view to golf course, only problem was to keep ducks outdoors. Golf courses were in good condition and reasonably priced with car and rental clubs. Dinner at Millhouse was excellent. Arrowtown was at walking distance and Queenstown at short drive, nice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seija H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Seija H,
Thank you for your review of Millbrook Resort. Did you get to see anything at the Arrowtown Autumn Festival while you were here? If not, we would highly recommend the festival if you are able to come back next year – great local food, markets and entertainment. Our ducks are pretty special to us here at Millbrook as they are part of the furniture so to say! We’ll pass on your feedback to The Millhouse team as they work very hard to ensure that every guest has an excellent time in our restaurant.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The perfect place to stay.. stunning scenery and grounds. The rooms were homely, beds comfy and the service flawless. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend to anyone! We grabbed the resort shuttle too and from the airport which made everything nice and easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Ozzcam,
Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. Our rooms were redesigned by Virginia Fisher to compliment the history of Millbrook being an old wheat farm, so when you say that the room were homely and the beds were comfy, we know that we have delivered on our promise! We hope to see you back at Millbrook Resort someday.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A really lovely place to stay. We had a room overlooking the golf course with a backdrop of snow covered mountains. Very quiet setting, but not too far to walk to the restaurants and bars on the resort, or a short drive to Arrowtown and Queenstown. The room was very well equipped and comfortable and the grounds very well kept. The only slight niggle was the housekeeping service which was very late (on one occasion the room was serviced at 4-30pm!). Otherwise a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Jon B,
It’s great that you had an enjoyable stay at Millbrook. It’s been a busy time around the resort in April with the Arrowtown Autumn Festival, the Millbrook Master and a few other events. We’ve passed on your comments to our housekeeping team as they are always working to ensure that they clean our guests room as early as possible, but we do appreciate your constructive feedback. The snow is on the way and we’re hoping that the Remarkables mountain range will be covered in snow in the next month or so. Are you coming back to stay over winter at all? We’ve got some great winter packages if you’d like to come back to experience the Millbrook way of life for another few days.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Most enjoyable relaxing resort I have ever been too from being able to have a sauna toplaying a game of Golf to getting messaged and lots more. Stay a min of 3 Days if you can however we stayed over for 5 days and we will remember this for always and we will come back in sking season with our kids sometime in the future.
All the workers were wonderful and accomadating and with personalities. THE RESTURANTS are superb especially the Japanese Resturant with its healthy meals.We had food from all the resturants but could not complain.
The beds werte very comfortable, the heated floors in the bathroom and kitchen made our Villa cosy and comfortable, Their were free courtesy buses to Arrowtown and Queenstown.

Room Tip: I would suggest a villa offering views and spacious room ensuite lounge and kitchen The higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColombaMayGiufre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear ColombaMayGiufre,
Thank you for review of Millbrook Resort. It gives us great pleasure to read that you experienced all of Millbrook Resort and enjoyed it. The teams here work hard to ensure they deliver on our promise of five star luxury to our guests. We have a winter escape package which is available so maybe you can come back sooner than you think!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is about our fourth stay at Millbrook and it never ceases to please us. Previously we have stayed in the Hotel Villas which have been great. This time we chose a Village Inn room and the package which went with it. Our Village Inn room was more than adequate for the two of us - comfortable super king size bed with crisp bed linen, great gas fire for the evenings which were becoming cooler, a large and well-equipped bathroom with bath and shower. Views out over the golf course. No need for a full kitchen in this unit as we had our breakfasts in The Clubhouse - yum! Then at night, we had our dinner in The Millhouse restaurant - beautiful food (thanks chef) and our meal was made even more pleasurable by the attention afforded us by our waiter, Tom, from Nottingham. A young man with a great personality who was very attentive towards this old couple! The Orb coffee served in The Hole in One Bar was superb. Pauline, in the Pro Shop, went out of her way to help us. Thank you, Pauline. The surrounding scenery with photographic opportunities everywhere - thank goodness for digital photography! We didn't play golf on this visit but, when at Millbrook previously, we have played on all three courses. Staff in every area were very helpful and pleasant. Can't wait to get back for another holiday - hopefully in October this year when family will come with us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course. Great to watch the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothyandNeilM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear DorothyandNeilM,
Thank you for taking the time to review Millbrook Resort. We love having guests return to the resort as we know we must have made a good impression last time you were here. Thank you for remembering the names of our staff that went out of the way to make your stay memorable. Our team work really hard to ensure every guest has a 5 star stay here and Pauline and Tom will be delighted to know they’re hard work didn’t go unnoticed. We look forward to having you and your family back in October, have a look at our winter package to see if this suits your requirements as it will give you $250 spend with Millbrook’s Leisure Concierge. Lets hope there’s snow capped mountains surrounding the resort when you arrive.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range: $204 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing