We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
JAPAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This resort is full of green. The cottages are cute and you can see stream and flowers on the way. They have spa, restaurants and self-laundry shed next to cottage (this was very useful for us), so that it’s like one small town. The meal in the restaurant is really nice and we could have romantic dinner.
We had little trouble caused by misunderstanding in the stay and the concierge dealt with it sincerely. It was a pleasant stay after all.

Room Tip: We stayed Village inn. The bed is king size and really comfortable. The bathroom is luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugimine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    106
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
163
467
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Millbrook earlier in the year for two nights to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived our stay was just "perfect". I honestly could not fault anything about Millbrook. The staff were very attentive and happy to help out. We had a lovely meal in the Millhouse Restaurant and would highly recommend a meal (or two) there if you are staying at Millbrook or indeed nearby. Breakfast at the Clubhouse was something to look forward to each morning. Our accommodation was first class, no complaints at all. A very special place indeed. We were lucky enough to also have a couples massage, this was indeed a treat! A must do if you are staying as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2create
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Love2create,
Congratulations on reaching 25 years of marriage. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay for your 25th Wedding Anniversary here at Millbrook.
We like to hear from our guests and always strive to ensure we are faultless at every turn. Our team work hard to ensure the golf course and grounds are pristine, the chefs love creating sumptuous breakfasts, lunches and dinners for you to enjoy and the spa team love to make sure everyone relaxes and enjoys their stay.
We hope to see you back again in the future and congratulations again on your anniversary.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Millbrook Resort for four nights, midway through a twenty day driving tour of NZ. It was so lovely. After several nights of rummaging in suitcases, we were able to unpack, in the dressing room, enjoy the spacious room and bathroom, with big bath.

After jet boating the bath was especially welcome, as we're the hot pools at the spa.

We hired bikes from the resort and rode into Queenstown, quite a trek, especially on the way back, more uphill bits, but felt very virtuous! Able to enjoy a meal at the onsite Japanese restaurant with no feelings of guilt.

Beautiful, well tended grounds, lovely restaurants, great areas for meeting up with friends, outside our rooms, or on our balcony, it was perfect.

Waking to see the snow topped mountains and the ducks waddling by was divine.

Room Tip: If you enjoy your privacy, pick a room without the golf course right outside, or you will feel overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SueLodder,
It's lovely to hear you hired some bikes from the Millbrook Pro Shop and cycled to Queenstown, it is a great ride.
The new 110km Queenstown Bike Trail winds its way through Millbrook and biking is a great way to see the surrounding area. A soak in the hot pools at Millbrook would certainly have helped ease away any aches and pains after that!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand road trip and would love to see you at Millbrook again in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH, aUSTRALIA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is our fifth time to Millbrook which says it all. A beautifully designed golf resort which is just such a pleasure to walk around. Great accommodation, spacious and comfortable. The staff were especially helpful and always cheerful. The shuttle was great, we even had the bikes transported to Queenstown for us. We enjoyed the food more this year at the Hole in One. We did come for two and a half weeks so feel we know the area well now! The Pro shop is always helpful and it was fun to use the bikes this year. Unfortunately for us Millbrook seems to be getting busier so we will have to pick another time of year! A very special place

Room Tip: At the moment quite a lot of building so choose a room that does not overlook this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMBIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Kimbia,
Thank your for your post. It's especially nice to have feedback from repeat guests and it's great to hear that even after your fifth visit we still meet your high expectations.
We agree that Millbrook is a pleasure to walk around. With the flora and fauna throughout the resort, the surrounding alpine vistas and picture perfect views at every turn, Millbrook is a special place to visit.
We do hope to see you again and again at Millbrook.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great base for a Queenstown and Arrowtown holiday. Outlook, setting, grounds and buildings are magnificent. You are close enough to enjoy everything (esp with the free shuttle service into Queenstown which you'd be crazy not to use if heading into town for dinner) yet in a country resort setting a bit out of town to truly escape. A great combination, really well done, thoroughly recommend and would stay again.

I am not a golfer so can't comment on the course. Went walking around grounds which were very well done. Some other reviewers comment re internet is fair enough, but unless you want it extensively, the short and limited free service is fine for a quick check of email.

Just a tip, make sure you put Malaghans Rd Arrowtown in the GPS, not Malaghans Rd Queenstown, ended up in the middle of Queenstown in a dead end, bit unfortunate after a long day's drive. My bad not theirs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stocksnbonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Stocksnbonds,
We couldn't describe Millbrook if we did it ourselves!
Thank you for your post which clearly outlines what makes Millbrook so special.
It's nice to hear you made use of and appreciated the complimentary shuttles to/from Queenstown and Arrowtown. It is a great guest service we offer and means guests can enjoy the beauty, peace and quiet of our 500 acres, yet can easily access the restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in Queenstown easily enough.
Also a great tip regarding the GPS as yes there are two Malaghans streets in Queenstown, Millbrook is Malaghans Road. We also have a map and how to get here section on our website to assist people if they need it.
We do hope to see you at Millbrook in the future,.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My hubby and I regularly stay at Millbrook when we are visiting NZ and the rooms are always of a very high standard. We love the big fluffy duvets! The staff are all very accommodating and their complimentary shuttles to/from Queenstown and Arrowtown are excellent. This time we didn't even bother renting a car. I had a wonderful massage at the spa - one of the best I've had actually - and would definitely recommend a treatment when you are there. Very good value too.
My only irk is that I don't like hotels charging for wifi and I'd like to see Millbrook provide free wifi for guests - not just for 30 minutes a day.
Other than that - no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauleenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear pauleenf,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post. We appreciate all the feedback we receive as it is only by our guest feedback that we can maintain and improve our five star service.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments about our staff and the massage in the spa to the team.

Millbrook recently underwent an upgrade of our WIFI services to provide faster broadband across the resort to ensure we met the expectations of our guests. After extensive research, we decided to continue with the current trend of New Zealand hotels to charge for WIFI. We appreciate that globally some hotels do not charge for this service, but in New Zealand most hotels do charge and we feel we are in keeping with the current trends on this matter.
We thank you for your comments on this as it forms part of our ongoing discussion and we will continue to track trends in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you to Millbrook again soon
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cheerfully mediocre hotel and staff. Ordinary food at best and the golf course was not great. The good news is that it is close to just about everything you want to do in New Zealand. Be sure to jetboat and helicopter around the area too. Maybe the Hilton in Queenstown or the Sofitel are better....

Room Tip: The property has rooms spread out in a large area. Be sure to ask for a second floor unit as you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Roadtri,
Many thanks for your post.
Voted Australasia’s Leading Golf Resort for the Third year running and currently nominated for the World’s Leading Golf Resort, we believe we not only set exceptionally high standards at Millbrook, but we also exceed them. Our frequent return guests and active Country Club members are testimony to this.
We are disappointed to hear your thoughts as the feedback we receive is usually very positive. Without specific details on your comments re why the dining and the golf course did not meet your expectations, it is difficult to follow up on your comments specifically.
We would like to welcome you back to Millbrook in the future and showcase all our slice of paradise has to offer.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing