We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers paradise, beautiful scenery, great place to relax”
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
East Malvern
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golfers paradise, beautiful scenery, great place to relax”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here with wife and family and loved the golf aspect a lot! Children had fun with indoor pool and other activities also. Rooms nice and relatively spacious, service was average and not overly friendly. Location is ok but bit away from bustle of Queenstown itself. Great place to get away from it all and relax - especially if you like golf.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear GaryLisbon,
Thank you for your review on Millbrook Resort. We are glad you and your family had a great time during your stay recently and the children enjoyed the pool, especially as we had such hot weather this year, i am sure it was a welcome respite from the heat. Sounds like you managed to squeeze some golf in as well!
Millbrook is a little bit out of the centre of Queenstown and away from the hustle and bustle, which is what makes it so peaceful and enjoyable. We hope you made use of the complimentary shuttles to and from Queenstown as most guests find this invaluable during their stay.
Thank you on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    109
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
173
487
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were so impressed with our recent stay at Millbrook. This was our second stay at the resort and once again we loved every minute of it. Staff were fantastic. Accommodation was stylish and comfortable. We are very demanding travelers with high expectations - we simply could not find fault with any aspect of our Millbrook experience. We had our parents with us for this visit. They are 5 star travelers with over 50 years of international travel experience. Millbrook was chosen on our recommendation so we were anxious that they enjoy their visit. Not only did they love it - they have raved about it since our return to Australia. We are all planning to book our Christmas holiday there again this year.

By way of suggestion rather than criticism - there were heaps of children staying at the resort - during peak periods might I suggest some organized activities for kids. We have found that such activities at other resorts where we have stayed has allowed our kids to meet and enjoy the company of other kids from around the world.

Room Tip: Mews cottage was great for family of 5 with teenagers - plenty of room. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGAww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear TGAww,
We are delighted to hear you and your parents had a great stay over Christmas at Millbrook and we hope we'll see you again for a 3rd visit ! We do pride ourselves on our five star service and it's great to hear we continue to deliver on this. Please keep raving about us in Australia.
Thank you for your suggestions regarding the children's activity club, which i have passed on to the Millbrook management team.
Kind Regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Millbrook Resort in Arrowtown, a short drive from Queenstown, for our 20th wedding anniversary. Arriving just after Christmas we had a week in the most wonderful setting of a golf course with villas and housing scattered around and restaurants and a spa - what more could you ask for?

We had a one bed studio which was well equiped and roomy with separate toilet, closet and bathroom. Our view was across the course and into the mountains and it was easy to just watch the world go by from our small patio.

Rooms are cleaned daily and linen refreshed as requsted. We at breakfast at the Club House cafe and it was just fine. We also had the odd coffee & cake or glass of wine too and the service was friendly and attentive. Our main splash out was dinner with friends at Sala Sala Japanese restaurant which was divine.

The grounds are well maintained and staff in all areas of the resort do everything they can to make you feel welcome.

I couldn't recommend Millbrook more highly. So for those of you thinking about staying in Queenstown, hire a car and stay at Millbrook instead and travel into town when you need to. Arrowtown is a lovely historic village just 2 minutes in the car and easy walking distance and the Resort has a shuttle bus that takes you to both towns frequently.

There is so much to do in the region including wineries, bungy jumping, jet boating, kyaking, walking and let's not forget golfing.

A wonderful way to kick-start the next phase of our lives together as empty nesters.

Room Tip: If you have young children a ground floor villa would probably be best and if you are a couple a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Mazla
Thank you so much for your kind review and good tips for future guests. It really does sound like you enjoyed yourselves and made the most of not just Millbrook's facilities but also all the great things to do in Queenstown and Arrowtown. We hope we can welcome you back again to Millbrook in the future, now your flock has flown the nest. Millbrook is certainly a great place to relax and unwind.
Kind Regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Millbrook. Golf facilities and staff are excellent, and the teaching professional runs an excellent 3 day "golf school" for small groups which is suitable for players of any level of experience to improve their skills - highly recommended! As for facilities at the resort - our villa suite was very comfortable and clean, with great views! The service and food at the on-site restaurants (Millhouse and Sala Sala) is very good and the courtesy bus to Arrowtown and Queenstown is very convenient and allowed other dining options. In summary, a very nice place to stay, good value and a very picturesque location to enjoy some golf.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hi Popjm,
Sounds like you really made the most of your time here at Millbrook and packed quite a lot in, golf, Arrowtown, dining etc. The golf schools are great and the pros here really enjoy passing on their knowledge to others. They are very passionate about what they do, which really shows during the 3 day golf schools. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Millbrook. Even though we are biased, the views here truly are some of the best in the world and we are lucky to enjoy them day in, day out.
We hope to see you at Millbrook again.
Kind Regards
On behalf of the owners and the team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Your rooms were fantastic! I highly recommend you to put the big TV screen in the lounge room of the cottage, and put two smaller ones in the room. Doesn't really make sense..
I must admit your housekeeping was extremely poor, since there no booklets or anyone doing anything about changing the towels or vaccumming for the entire week. Your free computers are so slow, make that update. Your half an hour Wi-Fi access limit wasn't enough. Should have been an hour. Oh, and as for your golf course; you need a gardner or a mower who will also do the hosing for the dead garden.

I loved all your restaurants, though I have to say the Millbrook Clubhouse dinner was a huge disappointment to me because the food was overcooked and overpriced. All the buffet is common food.... Japanese Restaurant could be improved by cooking better and unusual meals not found in New Zealand.

Ah, and considering people own places at Millbrook Resort although they are considered as guests at the hotel; they should be allowed to bring their cats or dogs on site especially if they are going for three months at their holiday home.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good mountain views, choose the beautiful cottages with your own bedroom and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hi Sirani M
Thank you for your kind words on Millbrook’s fantastic rooms and restaurants. We pride ourselves on our larger than normal rooms and superb views. The Cottages are ideal for families with children and do feature large TVs in the lounge room and smaller TVs in the bedrooms as the lounge area is the focal point of the cottages.
Our housekeeping team do daily cleans of all our rooms-unless you are staying with us as a guest of an owner, in which case a housekeeping service can be requested on arrival.
We have a host of gardeners, landscapers and grounds people on site every day tending to our beautiful grounds, fairways and gardens. During what was a very hot Dec and early January in Central Otago, their task wasn’t easy, but we assure you none of our gardens are dead and are tended to with great care by a large team of dedicated professionals.
Our complimentary Wifi is available for 30 minutes daily which is standard for many hotels and sufficient time we believe for people to check essential things whilst away from home. Following the complimentary 30 minutes you can choose to purchase additional time if you wish to. I have passed your comments regarding the slow computers in reception on to our IT department to look into further.
People who own property at Millbrook are allowed pets on site if prior approval from the Millbrook board is received.
Our New Year’s Eve Clubhouse Surf and Turf Dinner is always well attended and offers the very best of New Zealand seafood, meats, salads and array of buffet options and was once again fully booked this year and the feedback from other guests has been very good. Our Japanese restaurant Sala Sala provides authentic Japanese food and so uses ingredients that reflect the tastes of Japan.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and trust we have clarified the other points you raised in your post
Kind Regards
On behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I had heard a lot about Millbrook resort in Queenstown,New Zealand.
When we arrived the staff welcomed us warmly,they would take you to the rooms in the golf cart.
The rooms were quite spacious and View was just breath taking.
The spa was also very nice ,I took the facial treatment which was just excellent.
The breakfast was also very nice a lot of variety in the buffet.The return journey to the airport was complimentary by the hotel.
Overall I would say nothing like staying in Millbrook resort.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepti-tourisim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hi Deepti-Tourisiim
Thank you for taking the time to post about Millbrook Resort. We are glad that we could exceed your expectations of Millbrook from what you have previously heard. Being taken to your room by golf cart certainly is something not every hotel can offer and it is a great way to not only arrive at your room but also see parts of the resort. Our rooms are larger than most hotel rooms and we are lucky to have the natural wonders of Arrowtown on our doorstep to wow you with.
Thanks once again for your kind words and we are glad you also managed to sneak in a visit to The Spa at Millbrook on your visit.
Kind Regards
On behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I thought I would share my long weekend break at Millbrook Resort. I am still talking about it
some months after our holiday Easter Weekend.

We stayed in the Village Inn and we overlooked the creek. Totally idylic and peaceful. We biked around the resort and into Arrowtown. We played golf and had superb meals. We did not use our car the whole time we were there.

Left feeling completely rejuvenated.

Service was fabulous too.

Karen Wattie

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Hi Karen W
It's great to hear you are still talking about Millbrook so long after your Easter stay. Millbrook definitely has that affect on people.Nice to see you biked around the resort too as this is one of the best ways to fully appreciate the grounds, especially all the wildlife, trees and great views from around the resort.
Next time you feel like some rest and relaxation, be sure to come and pay us another visit.
Kind Regards the owners and team at Millbrook Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
9.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Property: Millbrook Resort
Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named New Zealand’s Top Hotel for three consecutive years at The TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards, as well as New Zealand and Oceania’s Leading Golf Hotel at the inaugural World Golf Awards in 2014, Millbrook Resort is the definition of five star luxury. Set across 500 acres of Central Otago countryside, with lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams, the resort offers a complete escape, just twenty minutes from ‘adventure capital’ Queenstown. The Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, offering a variety of luxurious studios and suites, two bedroom villas, two, three and four bedroom cottages, and Fairway Homes, all designed to capture the history of the resort, the surrounding views of the golf course and mountains, and with complete privacy in mind. As co-hosts of the BMW New Zealand Open for 2014 and 2015, Millbrook Resort is celebrated for a bucket-list-inspiring 27 hole championship golf course, acclaimed restaurants, an award winning day spa, a comprehensive health and fitness centre, multiple conference venues and facilities, and a wide range of onsite activities which allow guests to stay and play for days without even leaving the resort. All in-house guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, preferential green fees, and access to our health and fitness centre. Just a two minute drive from historic Arrowtown, fifteen minutes from Queenstown International Airport, and twenty minutes from Queenstown, Millbrook also provides a free shuttle service to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown so guests can enjoy all that the area has to offer. Millbrook Resort sets the standard for romantic getaways, golfing holidays and relaxing retreats – with a round of golf, lunch at The Hole in One cafe, a signature massage, and an evening at the award winning Millhouse Restaurant or Japanese inspired Kobe Cuisine, just one of the many ways to spend a day at Millbrook Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing