We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food - gorgeous place you'll always want to come back!”
Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe - CLOSED

Walnut Cottage Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 20, 2013

if you ever go to Queenstown and on your way to Arrow Town, then you’re most recommended to drop by at Walnut Cottage & Café. The place is nice, clean, cozy and so hommie with their lovely simple design & decoration, surrounded by green trees, gorgeous flowers and fresh air. I had walnut cottage full breakfast that time and to my surprise, the portion was -oh my God- too big- for Asian tummy like mine who can’t fit that many food! But the portion and the price is worth the hell out of it as the food and beverage are so tasty and yummy, served with smiles & friendly attitude by the owner and the rest of staff. I enjoy being here and eat their various authentic home-made menus. A must visit café & restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeedeeCaniago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Walnut Cottage Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Usually we really enjoy our visits to Walnut Cottage and the food and cuppas there. I had an excellent minestrone soup, a large serving that I was able to share. The other dish was a caesar salad which was disappointingly covered in an oil dressing flavoured with anchovies. Even the bacon did not taste like bacon, all of it imbued with the fish taste. Anchovies and the type of dressing were not listed, and if they were my husband would have asked for an alternative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SandraC-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global1982, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, yes we remember you & your husband came to our place a few weeks ago, we remember it took your husband quite a long time to decide what to order & yes we remember how you came to us & explain how your husband dislike his 'horrible' caesar salad. It was such an unfortunate event & you did specify that you're just trying to help that we should write the menu in details. We felt really sorry that you didnt realize that a caesar salad dressing is mostly made of anchovies, we did regret it & apologize. We offered to make you another salad with a different dressing, such as a simple aioli or greek dressing, we also offered drinks or anything else you want & in the end the chef actually offered u a refund that unfortunately you did not mention on your review. It was obvious your husband was really dissapointed because he couldnt stop saying the word 'horrible' but he refused any kinds of offer that we tried to give, we are also dissapointed that he wouldnt give us a chance, everyday all we wanted to achieve is Happy Customers. Guess we have to work extra extra harder for your husband, but as promised we are printing our new menus soon & we'll try to put everything in details though it is sometimes hard to put every single ingredients on each dish on the menu, but like we said we'll try! Hope you'll still come again as you said before you left our cafe. Again we value your review, we thank you & hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The garden setting is so charming, every visit to Walnut Cottage is a delight. The food is always delicious and the service is great. We will most certainly be coming back next time we are in Queenstown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crazy_frog711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global1982, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Popped for a coffee and a snack on the way past. Coffee was pretty average and the order taker got the order wrong which was a bit disappointing. Found it a little on the expensive side, the slices were similar prices to many other places, but smaller.

Thank BarterTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global1982, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your review but we believe the promo of $6 coffee & slice combo that you ordered that time was not expensive at all, yes there was a misunderstanding when delivering your order to your table, we did apologize & your respond was very understanding because we were quite busy, if it is concerning your offer of trading with your barter business we are still open to it but we appreciate only of your 'professional' review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can't recommend the walnut cottage cafe enough, the staff are so friendly and remember us when we go back. The food portions are huge! And so tasty. The breakfast is my favourite. We love to spend the morning there in the garden. But i also just stop in for coffee and cake whenever I drive that way. The gluten free brownie is out if this world. The owners also have these cute dogs :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank missleetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing