We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serendipitous find”
Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe - CLOSED

Walnut Cottage Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland,New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A serendipitous find”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were halfway through a long day's walk and just couldn't find a coffee place that appealed in the main area of Arrowtown. So,decided to forgo our favourite tipple and head homewards when we spotted Walnut Cottage. Nestled in a lovely garden and so picturesque. And the rest of our experience lived up to the vision. An easygoing,warm welcome from owner and her dog. The coffees were excellent,our water bottles were filled and we were on our way,well satisfied. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madelaine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    38
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best small cafe ever”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Once again this café in Arrowtown has come through.
Great atmosphere,great food and great food.
We had breakfast here and just loved it.
Will definitely come again,rapidly becoming our favourite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwold, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stopped by again this year”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We enjoyed coffee and snacks last year so I stopped by while cycling back from Arrowtown having rode the Queenstown trail. Friendly service, great cakes and drinks, and a shady garden to sit in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing venue”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful way to have a lazy lunch. Inside seating or out in the lovely garden setting. Great choice of food from hot meals to very nice cabinet fare. I had a cheese and bacon scone wow what a size but the taste was even more magnificent. The others had the homemade venison pies which they really enjoyed also. Pricing I thought value for money definatly applied here.Will be go back again ..... you bet. The enterance over the humped bridge with the waterfall a lovely start to the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location God honest food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the finest breakfast and lunch joints on Queenstown. First of all excellent location just beautiful. Food excellent and great value. Coffee's excellent. This is definitely a locals secret hope the tourists get to know about it too. Keep it up. Keep it simple well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMember02272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing