We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and wholesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe - CLOSED

Walnut Cottage Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and wholesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, good home made food a pleasure to be at, the kids food came out first , just really well thought out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    38
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Walnut Cottage Cafe between Arrowtown and Lake Hayes comes into its own in summer. With a beautiful garden setting and excellent food, it is a great place to meet friends in a relaxed atmosphere. Plan a stopover after a ride around Arrowtown or a walk around nearby Lake Hayes (2 hour circuit). The prawn fritters are delicious and the servings are extremely generous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped just for some drinks after a wal around lake Hayes. Fantastic coffee and smoothies. Beautiful place to sit, could have spent all day just sitting and reading. Cakes looked fantastic, can not wait to go back to same them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nj_ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint, rustic, a little bit funky and worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is a little out of the way ( between Arrowtown and Lake Hayes ) but it is worth calling in. There is a range of indoor and outdoor eating - outdoor works better here as there are various tables set around a garden area. The food is well prepared - cafe style with the addition of cakes, pies, pastries - that sort of thing. Service is laid back but pleasant. The ambiance is very relaxing in a slightly 60's sort of way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Contiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantasic little cottage cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Delightful setting just off the main road before Arrowtown.I have been there before for tea and oh so yummy scones.On this vist my husband and I had been given a voucher for Christmas gift.
Oh boy were we in for a treat.As we had our fury child with us my husband sat out in the delightful garden setting while I went inside to place the order.At the counter.I was greeted by a smiling lady.I ordered to full cooked breakfast and a pot of tea for two.The tea came out first.We each had a pot.Excellent as my husband likes his weak I like mine strong.It also came with a timer which was a sand clock to let you know how long the tea had been brewing.When the breckfast came out shortly after.Wow it was a beauty.Fit for any man child.Fantastic.!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FML537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing