We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic little cottage cafe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe - CLOSED

Walnut Cottage Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantasic little cottage cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Delightful setting just off the main road before Arrowtown.I have been there before for tea and oh so yummy scones.On this vist my husband and I had been given a voucher for Christmas gift.
Oh boy were we in for a treat.As we had our fury child with us my husband sat out in the delightful garden setting while I went inside to place the order.At the counter.I was greeted by a smiling lady.I ordered to full cooked breakfast and a pot of tea for two.The tea came out first.We each had a pot.Excellent as my husband likes his weak I like mine strong.It also came with a timer which was a sand clock to let you know how long the tea had been brewing.When the breckfast came out shortly after.Wow it was a beauty.Fit for any man child.Fantastic.!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FML537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    38
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, service needs improving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I ordered a gin and tonic based no the sign at the door advertising it and was given a gin and WATER in the hope that I wouldn't notice. Well, I did and they had run out of tonic!! Seriously?
My friends had lovely dishes which they really enjoyed, the prawn pancakes were amazing. However one of my friends had her desert brought to her before her main course. The ambience and surroundings are truly gorgeous, reminiscent of an old English country cottage and one of a kind in The Queenstown area. They have a few funky items for sale which would be great as gifts.

Helpful?
1 Thank stalkercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely place for a lazy afternoon - great food, nice people, beautiful garden, just what you need after a stresful day :) guys, you are doing fantastic job! Just PLEASE PUT SPAGETTI BOLOGNAISE BACK ON THE MENU!!! Thank you!!! ;)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cechopolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Platters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Here is what you do... Order a bottle of local Pino and the platter, its huge two of us struggled to finish it which is a rare thing to find these days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenstownBikeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Loved the food, coffee and the ambience. Fresh food, well cooked and presented.
Although, we were disappointed with the service. Customers come first, cellphone txts or videos later! Also, the playground needs to be upgraded.
Even though we were not happy with the treatment, we loved the food, and will give it another try to check the improvements in the services....after all, everyone deserves a second chance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Cervieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing