We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum With an Emphasis on Gold”

Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.26*
and up
Historical Arrowtown Tour from Queenstown
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakes District Museum is situated in the heart of picturesque Arrowtown. The museum houses a fantastic collection of artifacts and information about the history of this gorgeous district. Suitable for all ages, the museum is fun for all ages as we take a 'hands-on' approach to our displays. Take a wander around and don't forget to peek into all of the nooks and crannies so that you don't miss anything! The museum is also the Information Centre for Arrowtown and we can help you with any advise that you need about the best way to enjoy Arrowtown and its surrounds.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Museum With an Emphasis on Gold”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Must be one of the few mueums with a emphsis on gold mining. Very good displays. Easy to read information boards and rea;istic mockups. Well worth the 40 minutes or so spent there. Very good book shop with booksrelating to the area. It is of special interest to me as my grandfather was mine/dredge manager in the area in the 1890s.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 538AlanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    76
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Clair, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I can't believe how much was in this Museum and how interesting it was. For the small cost per person it is worth it but give yourself sufficient time to take it all in. Some museums are boring, this one wasn't.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good chunk of history”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our museum visit exceeded my expectations. The exhibits are well presented and explained adequately. The town's long history is encapsulated beautifully in the museum, which is larger than you would expect it to be for a place the size of Arrowtown. The staff was eager to answer questions, too. Great experience. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not just the gold diggers”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

we loved arrowtown and did not want to miss out on the little museum. we were pleasantly surprised. it's fun to visit, you are able to peek into rooms like a school, a newspaper printer's office, an alehouse, a baker's etc. one of the main focuses is also on the chinese miners. you get to see many interesting artifacts and photographs from the past.

Helpful?
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstwon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great museum in historic building”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Love the current GOLD exhibition - a real Emmy on display plus loads of good stories. Half size model of world's biggest gold nugget is terrific.
Best book shop for nz titles, maps, cards etc

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mirandaQueenstwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lakes District Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing