We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shades of Arrowtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbrook Resort(Arrowtown)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hayes Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (171)
    Filter reviews
    171 results
    Traveler rating
    122
    39
    8
    1
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    122
    39
    8
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslawns and gardenshigh quality furnishingsgreat locationawesome motelstudio unitshort strollsuper closehelpful ownersa stones throwclose to townsmaller roomin easy walking distanceplace to staycoffee plungerlarge bedwonderful hostselectric blankets
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    135 - 140 of 171 reviews
    Reviewed September 27, 2013

    We arrived here later in the evening - no problem. The 4 of us were given a really warm greeting!! She told me my parents had called earlier wanting to talk to us and the next morning made sure I had gotten in touch with them (my parents later said what a nice, pleasant and helpful lady she was). It's one block from a terrific pub and 2 blocks from the main street filled with shops and restaurants. They don't provide breakfast but within 5 minutes are many cafes. My only regret is we only stayed overnight and had to rush the next morning and couldn't enjoy Arrowtown more.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lanamom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

    HI,
    Thank you for staying with us here at The Shades, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we might see you all again in the future.
    Lorica

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

    A group of 5 of us spent a very enjoyable week here during a ski trip in early August. The lady owner could not have been more helpful and the rooms were warm and comfortable. Great setting and just across the road from the Provisions cafe which would have to be the best in town.

    • Stayed: August 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JLB81
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

    Hi,

    Thank you for your lovely words, we very much enjoyed you staying with us and hopefully next year there will be a little more snow around. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you again next winter.
    Lorica

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

    My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during autumn. What a lovely setting with all the autumn leaves around and so close to picturesque Arrowtown. The room, although compact was all we needed and it was clean and inviting. We got down to zero degrees at night but the wall heater soon heated up the room. Shades is so close to town and the owners very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying there and would happily stay there again.

    • Stayed: April 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank emma m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

    Hi Emma,
    We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
    Lorica

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 27, 2013

    We stayed in this well appointed motel set in absolutely beautiful grounds, and found the owners extremely hospitable and most helpful. The motel is located near excellent cafes and restaurants, and although near the centre of town, was quiet and peaceful. We thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay in beautiful Arrowtown.

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jillobFeilding
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

    Hello,
    Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.
    Lorica

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 27, 2013

    After many visits to Arrowtown this was the first stay over, very convenient to town, plus comfortable and friendly. You could not wish for better. Excellent base for visits to Queenstown.
    Recently converted well appointed rooms, with small kitchen unit should you need it, as you are very close to excellent restautrants.

    • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Quantummike
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

    Hi,
    Thank you for reviewing us on Trip advisor, we are very pleased that you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here. We look forward to meeting you again next time you are here in Arrowtown.
    Lorica

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews