We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After many visits to Arrowtown this was the first stay over, very convenient to town, plus comfortable and friendly. You could not wish for better. Excellent base for visits to Queenstown.
Recently converted well appointed rooms, with small kitchen unit should you need it, as you are very close to excellent restautrants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quantummike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip advisor, we are very pleased that you stayed with us and enjoyed your time here. We look forward to meeting you again next time you are here in Arrowtown.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Shades of Arrowtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our third stay in Arrowtown, and we've stayed at Shades of Arrowtown each time. Change of ownership since we stayed a couple of years ago, but still really good, nicely appointed rooms complete with the most important thing - coffee plunger and ground coffee!! Decent beds, good bedding, central heating as well as radiators in the rooms (very important as the weather gets colder!) and beautiful surroundings! Really relaxing

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

lovely shady garden setting so close to everything and very well appointed at reasonable cost; much better than the business of Queenstown yet so close; small kitchen if you like to make your own snacks;

Room Tip: we have stayed several times in different rooms and all excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

HI Peter and Katherine,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoy your stays with us that you keep coming back, we thank you very much and look forward to the next time you are down.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a Return Trip for us.
We were initially here in 2009. While there are now new owners, it did not disappoint.
My family, as well as my Sister's family and our Parents stayed at Shades for 7 nights as a base for Queenstown some 15-20 minutes drive away while celebrating Fathers 80th Birthday.
Excellent range of accomodation; up to a family 3 bedroom apartment (with unique outdoor BBQ area with lawn, as well as private Lounge/Kitchen/SpaBath-Shower/Laundry) where my Parents stayed with my sisters family.
Our unit had access to seperate shared BBQ picnic facilities available in a seperate shared space.
We used a seperate shared Laundry which worked well.
Wireless broadband available and fine for email/browsing; is now pay-per-use (Sadly due to previous customer abuse). Connection was good enough to skype if required.
A/Con generally not available, but not required even on warm days of ~30C as the evenings cooled off.
Still not used to no fly screens on windows, but this is normal for most of New Zealand.
Fresh Soaps/Towels /Paper every day.
Remarkable oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of town despite weddings and a music festival at a winery in the area. Area opens to park and Pub's/Eateries.
Excellent range of local activities too: Walks. Cycling, Horses, Swimming (Municipal) within walking distance, Golf Courses and Wineries available nearby.
Same overall quality means we will continue to be regulars there every time we return to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths if you don't want one. Some rooms have various levels of Kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Charles,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope mum and dad are doing well. We look forward to meeting you all again next time you are over here.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at Shades of Arrowtown. After a long haul flight from Scotland ,it was just what we needed . Very helpful owners , excellent accommodation and first class location , the best location of any motel in the whole of New zealand.
I would recommend this motel to any traveller .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Rachel,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, It was very nice to meet you both and hope that you had a very nice holiday in New Zealand. Hope all is well with you both. I hope that we get the chance to meet you again.

Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in a very good studio. The kitchen area was compact but had everything you needed. Very clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. It is close to everything in Arrowtown. Only comment would be that the door of the fridge would be better if it opened the other way because of the amount of space.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

People were super nice. Room was perfect for our needs, very clean and comfortable. Quiet area with absolutely beautiful gardens. Within walking distance to everything in Arrowtown. We highly recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Anne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Motel, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: $122 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing