We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It's very close to everything and it is just a stones throw from the main drag. Nice outdoor spaces to sit and it's all very calm and quiet. Rooms are okay too. All in all, it's a convenient place to stay and very relaxing.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Jake,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent in all three nights. Stayed the first night and felt so welcome that we returned for a further two days. Arrowtown is delightful and we loved our stay. We explored and played golf. We can not say enough good things about Shades from the friendly welcome and very comfortable rooms. Tom and Lorica are wonderful hosts and added to our amazing stay. We look forward to returning and spending more time at Shades in the future and wish Tom and Lorica the very best for 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice words. We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again when you come back to Arrowtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely, friendly management, gorgeous room - we stayed an extra night it was so good! We were intending on staying somewhere else, but the owner wasn't to be seen, so we cam across Shades and they were available and very welcoming - so it was an easy decision. Very pleased we found it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you Caroline,
I am pleased that you found us! Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed during December, a really busy time and the owners were really accommodating. - We arrived early. Extremely clean, tidy well presented. Would definitely recommend as a beautiful relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Shades is in a very pleasant location on a tree-shaded avenue, centrally situated in delightful Arrowtown. Lorica and Tom were wonderful hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. The comfortable, fully-equipped chalets are set in a pretty garden. Arrowtown is an elegant and peaceful place with a fascinating history. If you are not self-catering there are some good eating places within easy strolling distance. Altogether well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

HI Ian,
Thank you for a great review and taking that time to do so. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to meeting you again in the future. Lorica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Comfortable, quiet, a lovely place to stay. We would recommend it without reservation. It pays to book because it is popular. Walk to Arrowtown (one minute!) but within easy reach of Wanaka, Cromwell and Cromwell which are all bigger and noisier. We stay there every time we visit Arrowtown as it enables me to combine business trips with a few days down time.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all of them. The smaller rooms are fine if you plan to be out all day, but if, lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks Jo for taking the time to give a review. We are pleased that you enjoy coming to stay with us, and I look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a superior room , very cosy with pleasant small verandah and lawn .The location is only a few minutes from the central streets where all the restaurants and bars are situated . Arrowtown is a delightful place to stay, much nicer I think than Queenstown which seemed noisier and more spread out . Friendly and helpful new owners.
Pretty drive up to Lake Wanaka via Cardrona Hotel which is well worth a stop. It is also a pretty drive around the lake towards Mount Aspiring.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Manager at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.9 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#1 of 12 in Arrowtown
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arrow Private Hotel
The Arrow Private Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arrowtown
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: $106 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing