We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too poky for comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shades of Arrowtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“too poky for comfort”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Location of this motel is great, but unfortunately we also seemed to have trouble with our booking. We booked really early but it seemed to have been mislaid, and we were put in the smallest unit we have ever seen in New Zealand. Fridge etc in the wardrobe, and if we put our suitcase on floor, then had to move it to open the door. The television was also the smallest I,ve seen for years. Not worth what we did pay.

Room Tip: Quiet and convenient location but that would be all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello,
I am writing to you to let you know the The Shades of Arrowtown is now under in ownership.
I am sorry that you have an unpleasent visit in the past.
We are in the middle of reinovating the Units and they are all looking pritty good, the unit in which you stayed in has now got a new kitchen and Tv, the fridges are no longer on the floor and the room is a standard Queen room so really isn't that small.
Hopefully if you are ever back this way you could stay with us again and see the changes in which we have made. Thanks Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level Contributor
267 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Although I have stayed twice before,and my booking was confirmed in writing, management cancelled my reservation by email 48 hours before my arrival with a rather thin story about double booking. I suspect that they had a better (longer) offer. No attempt was made to suggest alternative accommodation.

Off my list, I'm afraid, in spite of the limited options in Arrowtown.

Markings relating to the rooms are from a previous visit as an entry is required.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I am sorry that you have had a bad experiance with the previous owners, I am please to let you know that we had just taken of here at the Shades of Arrowtown, and if you are ever here in New Zealand again I would like to ask you to give us an opportunity to stay with us again and this time I promise you a nice and relaxing time. Thank you Tom and Lorica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
429 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Arrowtown is a very pretty town about 20 min drive from Queenstown with good selection of places to eat and nice walks close by. It is small and I would say quite upmarket so places to stay are not vast and usually in demand. Shades has only got a 3 star value rating from me as it is quite expensive for what is really an upper class motel. However the rooms are a reasonable size with cooking facilities - stove top and microwave - no oven, and separate bedroom. Furnishings are OK but not particularly new or modern. It's not a large property but the setting is nice - about 10, mainly semi detached cabins, in nicely planted grounds with access to BBQs and only a couple of mins walk from the main high street. The cabins do vary in size and amenities and I believe some have their own laundry facilities although there is a communal pay as you go facility on site. There is also a large two storey cabin which was very popular with families. Shades is a perfectly OK place to stay in a picturesque village with access to all the activities in the Queenstown area but outside of the noise, traffic and bustle of Queenstown itself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorica H, Owner at Shades of Arrowtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. The Shades of Arrowtown is now Under NEW management, and we have been slowly upgradeing things from Tv's to Bedspreads to completly new kitchens. I hope that someday you will be able to come back and see the changes we have made. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
11.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#5 of 12 in Arrowtown
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Cottage Motel
Settlers Cottage Motel
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Arrowtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Arrowtown

Property: Shades of Arrowtown
Address: 9 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shades of Arrowtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing