We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dining at its very best”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

the staff were very friendly and made us feel at home right from the start. We were lucky to choose our table - out on the verandah. We started with fabulous hot fresh breads and dips - enough for both of us to share. the menu had amazing choices and we usually choose two different dishes so we can share, but both enjoyed the same blue cod and prawn risotto. Succulent fish, shrimps in the rosotto perfectly complemented the buttered prawn and mint swirl was a surprising extra delight. We even went for desserts this time because the strawberry pavlova and coffee and chocolate cheesecake were too hard to resist. A mention must be made of the lovely atmosphere and surroundings, and the wall art was fabulous and tempting to buy. All facilities (including the toilet) were pristine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Anne P,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. The work on the walls is by local artist Graham Brinsley and also Dunedin based Kerry Fenton-Johns, both artists draw their inspiration from the nature and scenery of the area and we feel, really compliments the interior of the restaurant. Thanks again, and we hope you will visit us again when you next find yourself in Arrowtown.

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 576 of 681 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Melt in the mouth venison, beautiful garden setting, attentive and friendly staff. Highly recommend this restaurant as somewhere very special to enjoy a delicious meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Monz99,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. The garden is beautiful this time of year and really adds to the atmosphere out on the verandah, the perfect place to relax with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. We are delighted that you think so too!

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Simple food cooked well is always a great dining experience. I had a wonderful meal here last Saturday night. Stewart Island Cod followed by sorbet, delicious. A great selection of Central Otago wines, very good service and all in a lovely old historic Arrowtown villa. To top it off it was a beautiful night & we dined outside on the verandah. Looking forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Debbie M,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. Sam, the head chef and co owner, is particularly pleased with this review as your comments echo his ethos about food "great produce, treated with respect and cooked simply". Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I couldn't recommend the fillet steak more if I tried. This was literally the best steak of my life. Perfectly cooked, seasoned and rested. Melt in the mouth yummy!!!
If you're in Arrowtown the Postmaster's Residence is the place to go for a quality dining experience.
Thanks heaps!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear LisaB,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and very proud that we served you "the best" steak of your life, so much so, that the chef has pinned your note to the wall as a keepsake. It is really motivating for all our staff when customers are so positive about their experience with us and it means a lot so again we thank you.

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had a brilliant breakfast last Saturday (late) morning. I loved the green eggs - done to perfection and especially loved a real china teacup for my morning cuppa! We dined outside basking in the early summer sunshine while enjoying the colourful, well-cared for garden. The service was fantastic. A very memorable experience begging to be repeated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grace580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Grace580,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Teacups have become a bit of an obsession for me now, I'm constantly on the lookout so it's lovely when customers find them as charming as I do! Our Summer menu will be available from the first week of Dec so you will have to come back and check out the new offerings.

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing