We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found this gorgeous little place while looking for another restaurant, and we were so glad we did! The service was fantastic - they couldn't do more to make our lunch enjoyable, very friendly and helpful. And the food was absolutely scrumptious. Fresh, simple, and delicious and also very reasonably priced. The seafood chowder was the best I've ever had, even better than in San Fran! We loved it so much we came back for it again a couple of days later. I highly recommend this place for a delightful lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vmwhitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Vmwhitak,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope you will visit us again if you return to this beautiful part of the world!

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 637 of 718 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Queenstown and thought we'd go up to Arrowtown for a look-see. We stumbled on the Postmasters residence and we're lucky we did! The food was awesome. My wife LOVED the seafood chowder. So much so, we changed our plans around to go back (I had to try it too). It was great!

The waitress remembered us. She was super-attentive, super friendly and even gave us a few tips...

The setting and atmosphere are great. It's clean, warm and inviting.

If you're anywhere in Queenstown, do yourself a favour and go there!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OZTravelers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear OZTravelers77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. The chowder is one of our most popular lunch dishes and is a staple of our menu so although we change our menu to reflect the seasons, you can rest assured that you will always find it on our menu!

Thanks again.
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent and attentive service. A real log fire added to ambiance and food was outstanding. We had a platter for staters which included most if the entrees on the menu. For main course we chose the pork belly which was truly outstanding. This was our third visit to ths restaurant and we will definitely be going again. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Tanya E,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you have returned to dine with us on numerous occasions. We are just about to change over to our Spring menu, which we are really excited about, so we hope you will enjoy the new dishes just as much if not more!

Thanks again,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I had three night stay at the fabulous Millbrook Resort just out of town and eat at the resort on two of the three nights. The other night we dined at the Postmasters Residence based on recommendations here on trip advisor. The high ratings and reviews were well justified. Lovely food, excellent service and romantic setting. Arrowtown is a lovely little village and this restaurant compliments the ambience of the village.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear richo21282,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staff are friendly and we sit inside this premise with history. There are old photos and deco is nice and neat. We enjoyed the tasty egg on toast and a warm leek soup for breakfast/bunch and also the hot lemon honey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chocodung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear chocodung,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, service and also the atmosphere of this very special building. The house was once home to the town's Postmaster and the photos that are dotted around the restaurant are in homage to that era. We also have works displayed by Kiwi artists, currently Kerry Fenton Johns, whose vibrant pieces bring a lot of colour and life to the walls.

We hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Thanks again,
Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing