We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky strike!”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I feel so lucky that my husband and I stumbled across this fantastic restaurant for lunch. We were after a yummy lunch that included great NZ food at a reasonable price in a comfy atmosphere, and that is exactly what we got here. I had the green lipped mussels in white wine, garlic and parsley - the best I have had anywhere and is something I will be dreaming off back in Oz. So fresh. My husband had the Irish stew which was also hearty and delicious. The service was attentive and friendly, we will come back here for sure!

Thank Drummoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Drummoa,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are so lucky to have our outdoor area, it's such a perfect place to relax and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful town!

Thank you for taking the time to review, it is very much appreciated.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 606 of 670 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

wonderful place, great food, service outstanding. i had so far the best venison in my life, it really tasted delicious with smoked mash. looking foward to come back on my next time in arrowtown. higly recommended

Thank Unnorther
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear André U,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. The venison is one of the most popular dishes on our menu so we are delighted that you enjoyed it too. We will be launching our spring menu in September so you will have to come back and check it out.

Thanks again,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a really lovely evening with the Postmasters. Fantastic service, wonderful atmosphere and the MOST delicious venison. And a great bottle of wine! As a bonus a lot of their dishes are, or can be made, gluten or dairy free. We even went back to sample their orange and almond cake - incredible!
Highly recommended. Get a spot beside one of their two fireplaces.

Thank hannahjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear hannahjoi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. An important part of our menu planning is creating delicious and interesting dishes for our customers with dietary requirements so it is fantastic to hear such positive feedback.

Thanks again!

Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a lovely place to spend a relaxing time having a great breakfast. Lovely surroundings, relaxing music. The food is fabulous and very good value. You simply must call in here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daisymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear daisymiss,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We have just started serving breakfast and we have been receiving really positive feedback about the menu which we are delighted about. As with our lunch and dinner menus, we only use fresh, local and seasonal produce which is something we are very proud of.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again.

Warm regards
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When first walked in we was invited to seat in one of the tables in front of their fireplace (that was great once it was raining outside and very could) with a beatiful smile in the face the waitress brought us the breakfast menu some water and soon our coffee to warm us up. I was Trynig to decided which meal I was having when I saw a meal called "Probably the best Bircher Muesli in the world" i could resist to go for it. And i dont regreat I also can honestly recommend anyone who wants to have a good day starting to stop by and ask for the best Muesli in the world!!! And if it is a could day finish with Mulled Wine (best ever)! Well done!!! Definitely looking to come back for a dinner maybe next time I am back in Arrowtown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Jônathas Duarte,

Thank you for your kind review. We have just recently launched our breakfast menu so it is very encouraging to hear that you enjoyed it so much. The two open fires in the restaurant do a great job of keeping the cold Arrowtown mornings at bay and of course a friendly smile helps too! It's a big statement to say that it is probably the best bircher in the world, but the verdict so far has been unanimous in agreement!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Arrowtown.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing