We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want???”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I dined here with friends and their newly born, we were all so delighted with the evening as a whole! I can not fault the team here as everything from service to food was done with perfection. This is a beautiful restaurant with alot of care and thought about it! I personally had the platter as a shared entree which was creative, well presented and had variety! My choice of mains was venison which was cooked perfectly, with smoked potato and nicely cooked parsnips! For desert I went for the chefs ice creams were were fantastic. Very well done indeed, all topped off with a great wine list and a great waiter!! WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chezbennyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Chezbennyj,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We strive to create a warm and relaxed atmosphere, as well as delicious food showcasing the best produce that this beautiful region has to offer. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 660 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

A great team who right from the start set the tone for a fantastic evening. It was a busy night yet the two guys looking after us made you feel you were the only table there, nothing was too much trouble, took the time to explain the ingredients that made up some of the awesome flavours in the dishes... We have to go back if only to have the venison main dish again. Great setting, great team and fabulous tasting food - what more could you want. Will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CelticKiwi22464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear CelticKiwi22464,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. The venison is one of our most popular dishes so it's great to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food, the wine, the welcome and the service all made this a very memorable meal. I take nothing away from the basics when I say that the standout star of the show was our thoroughly professional waiter who was friendly but not intrusive, and excellent with the young children in our party. If you like venison, do not miss the venison carpaccio ... It is outstanding for presentation and flavor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear BHarmer,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We strive to make every customer feel welcomed and relaxed and we are delighted that this is the experience you walked away with.
Thanks again.
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We all ate here and the food was excellent. I had Irish stew and it was served in a big hollowed out crusty bread bun. My wife had the seafood chowder and said it was delicious. The staff were very friendly. I would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mick1518979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear mick,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. The Irish stew and the chowder are two of our most popular lunch dishes, they are both really comforting and warming so perfect for a cold winter's day! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you if you're in Arrowtown again.
Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful service, food was really nice. I felt really well looked after, especially because I have some dietary requirements (no gluten or dairy). The waiter was very assuring that the chefs take great care and could adjust most dishes. There was a gf & df orange almond cake for dessert which was served with a scoop of passionfruit ginger sorbet. So nice to be able to have a proper dessert out...Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Katie S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The orange almond cake is proving a big hit and not just with our GF and DF customes! A main aim, when creating our menu, was to give all customers, regardless of dietary requirements, a delicious meal so it is great to hear that we are delivering that.
Thanks again,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing